Human Croquet (Reprint) (Paperback) product details page

Human Croquet (Reprint) (Paperback)

Zoom is not available for this image.

$13.60

  • list:  price $16.00  (save 15%)

delivery service options available in cart

learn more about delivery service options

Product Information

product specification

  • Book Subgenre: Mystery + Crime
  • Language: english
  • Edition: Reprint
  • Format: paperback
  • Book Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Reviewer: Katharine Weber, (New York Times Book Review)

"[O]ffers further proof that [Atkinson] is off and running in a quite fantastic direction of her own devising....What makes 'Human Croquet' so successful is that it really doesn't matter if a reader recognizes every gesture in Atkinson's literary high-wire act, because the multitude of characters are defined with such vivid specificity that they--and what happens to them--matter the most."

Reviewer: Rebecca Radner, (San Francisco Chronicle Book Review)

"British novelist Kate Atkinson specializes in audacity, which she offers up with irresistible humor and grace. Her combination of manic invention and runaway plot is usually found in science fiction sagas rather than in a literary tour de force of emotional and linguistic complexity....If all of this is great fun, it's also surprisingly moving."

Reviewer: Jill Neville, (Literary Review)

"Kate Atkinson is a blazing new talent popped out of the grass roots to delight and astonish us....Atkinson feeds a current appetite for the lost world of home-baked scones, funny old radios and dear ordinary life. Her twist is to backlight ordinariness with time's great glow."

Reviewer: Candice Rodd, (Times Literary Supplement)

"For readers of Kate Atkinson's effervescent first novel, 'Behind the Scenes at the Museum', this will seem familiar territory: the highly idiosyncratic, secret-soaked, comic and terrible disaster zone of the family."

Reviewer: Jane Gardam, (Spectator)

"What is 'real' in all this and what imagined Atkinson leaves us to decide. This is not magical realism. Sometimes it is a pack of lies....[I]t's all a highly entertaining saga and Atkinson's passion for England and Englishness an unfashionable and pleasant surprise."

"[A] self-consciously smart and mildly amusing family saga."