Our Generation Bite to Eat Retro Diner for 18" Dolls

Our Generation Bite to Eat Retro Diner for 18" Dolls - image 1 of 4Our Generation Bite to Eat Retro Diner for 18" Dolls - image 2 of 4Our Generation Bite to Eat Retro Diner for 18" Dolls - image 3 of 4Our Generation Bite to Eat Retro Diner for 18" Dolls - image 4 of 4
Our Generation Bite to Eat Retro Diner for 18" Dolls - image 1 of 4
$109.99When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Retro Diner Restaurant Accessory Set for 18-inch dolls
  • Features working jukebox, real chalkboard, spinning display case, and more!
  • Includes over 70 realistic restaurant accessories
  • Compatible with most 18-inch dolls including American Girl
  • Suggested for Age 3+ (small parts), 3 x AA batteries included
  • Dolls sold separately

Specifications

Number of Pieces: 75

Dimensions (Overall): 18.0 Inches (H) x 27.0 Inches (W) x 18.0 Inches (D)

Weight: 20.55 Pounds

Suggested Age: 3 Years and Up

Features: Music

Assembly Details: No Assembly Required

Doll Theme: Retro

CPSC Choking Hazard Warnings: Choking_hazard_small_parts

Includes: Play Food

Material: Plastic

Battery: 3 AA, No Battery Used

TCIN: 16439533
UPC: 062243331457
Item Number (DPCI): 086-09-0018
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description

Your dolls will get their fill of sweet retro fun at the Our Generation Bite to Eat Retro Diner! This fully-stocked restaurant playset for 18-inch dolls is packed with accessories and all the ingredients for making charming memories. This diner playset features a retro-style serving counter where staff can prepare your order. Which doll will be the customer and the server today? Advertise your daily specials with the real chalk and chalkboard, and entice your customer's sweet tooth with a display case full of scrumptious desserts - it really spins! Customers can sit at the counter on the movable vinyl and chrome-colored stools, or in the booth. Open the shutters to let in more light, and treat your dolls to a tune on the working jukebox! Over 70 pieces of realistic pretend food, dishes, and other accessories will put hours of fun on the menu! The dolls in the pictures are Reese, Ginger, and Eva. (Dolls and outfits sold separately, available at Target. Compatible with American Girl dolls.)
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 30.5 inches length x 22.5 inches width x 13.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 23.89 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Northern Mariana Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)
This item may ship in its original packaging ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. If purchased online with SNAP EBT, this item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. This 90-day return window is required by SNAP.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: can this also be used for barbies?

submitted by akg - 4 years ago
  • A: My granddaughter uses her Barbies with the Our Generation play sets and likes it much better with them than her AG dolls. There is more play area for her to move the dolls around and they are built much better than Barbie play sets.

    submitted bypjg352 - 3 years ago
  • A: Hi there! Our Generation products are designed for 18-inch dolls, which are much larger than Barbie, and are most likely not suitable. We hope this helps!

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is it meaning it can't be hidden? Will they not have it shipped in anything to protect it like in a box or bag? I thought you had to have it in something

submitted by Nicole - 5 years ago
  • A: It is in a box but the box has the label on it so you know what is inside of it.

    submitted bycaw - 5 years ago
  • A: The original packaging has a clear plastic front, but when delivered it did come in another box. So it was not an issue. I worried about it arriving for all to see, but it was just fine.

    submitted byDiana - 5 years ago

Q: Will this fit in to the doll house?

submitted by Vzask1231 - 6 years ago
  • A: Depends on what type of dollhouse. if it is an american girl dollhouse, then probably. If it is a barbie dreamhouse, then there is no chance.

    submitted byCeruseCelia - 3 years ago
  • A: This is pretty big. It's for 18 inch dolls so depending on how big the dollhouse is then yes.

    submitted byNicTug - 6 years ago

Q: In a recent move, all of the food items belonging to the diner were lost. Is there a replacement set available? If not, is there a similar set?

submitted by Janet - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi Janet. Please visit the URL: customercare.battatco.com and complete a ticket with your request. If there are parts available, the Battat Team will do their best to assist you. Thank you. The Battat Team

    submitted byBattat Team - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: How long does assembly take?

submitted by HP - 2 years ago
  • A: Hello. The assembly time is case per case, as depending on the person it may take longer or be shorter than others. It is 4 quick steps to the full set up and the diner comes with full instructions. The Battat Team

    submitted byBattat Team - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: What songs does the jukebox play?

submitted by HP - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi there! The jukebox songs are our dolls favorites. They are trade secrets though, so their lips are sealed! The Battat Team

    submitted byBattat Team - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Where exactly is the switch to turn on/off the light? It says it's under the counter but I don't see anything. I'm worried that its defective.

submitted by TB - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi there! The switch to turn the lights on and off is located under the counter, a round button located above and to the right of the battery panel. There is a diagram on the second page of the included instruction page for your reference. You may need to replace the batteries - if doing so does not help, please reach out to our customer service team via the Battat website for assistance!

    submitted byourgeneration team - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Gave this set to my daughter for Christmas, after spending a lot of time setting it up pulled the tab out and only the juke box works. The lights will not turn on, is there anything we can do to try and fix this issue on our own? Very disappointing!

submitted by Kelly - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi Kelly! We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bite to Eat Retro Diner. Please get in touch with Battat Customer Service team at 1-866-665-5524 and we will gladly help you troubleshoot your issues!

    submitted byBattat Team - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: How do you get the music to play from the Juke box? The batteries work for the neon light, but nothing happens when you press the heart down as stated in the directions, am I missing something?

submitted by Kids love the OG - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi there! We're sorry you're having trouble with the jukebox. It should turn on when you push the heart button on top. If that doesn't work, there may be an issue. Please contact the point of purchase to exchange your diner for one with a functioning juke box. If you need additional support, please reach out to us via the Battat website. Sincerely, Team Battat

    submitted byourgeneration team - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: How do u change batteries? I don’t see where they go

submitted by Linda - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi Linda, To change the batteries you will need to unscrew the panel located inside the serving counter, near the flip-up countertop at the end. It is a square panel with a single Philips screw at the top. We hope this helps! Enjoy playing with your Retro Diner!

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert
4.7 out of 5 stars with 273 reviews
95% would recommend
199 recommendations
quality: 4.64 out of 5
broad age appeal: 4.63 out of 5
value: 4.13 out of 5

Super cute, but ..

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
a - 16 days ago, Verified purchaser
Shipping was really quick and the set is very cute. Only problems are that the set comes with a lot less than expected as well as this item looking to be a used item sent to me:/
broad age appeal: 2 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

No lights

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Hannahj - 26 days ago, Verified purchaser
We bought this for our daughter last year, and she just opened it for her birthday this year. We were excited because everyone talked highly of this product and it's cute features, but it doesn't work. The button is there for lights but you can't press it because it is sealed to the plastic. I had tried to juggle it lose to see if it were just a little stuck, but it was sealed by manufacturer.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 21 days ago
Hi Hannahj - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The design of the Our Generation Bite to Eat Retro Diner changed several years ago, and the lights are no longer functional. So, your toy is not defective, but we understand that you and your daughter might still be disappointed. We know that she will still have hours of imaginative fun with the diner. it is full of wonderful features. Sincerely, Team Battat
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 3 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Our Generation Diner

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Nana - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Really cute set. I rated it 4 stars because it didnt come with a cash register which I feel should come with a diner set. Granddaughter plays with it often.
quality: 4 out of 5
broad age appeal: 4 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

A little disappointed

3 out of 5 stars
JNF - 3 months ago
This is a really cute toy, but it didn’t work. We tried 3 different sets of batteries but the music wouldn’t turn on. Disappointed for sure, but can still play with the rest of it.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 3 months ago
Hi JNF! We’re sorry to hear that! We really want your little one to enjoy playing with all of the features of the Our Generation Retro Diner! It sounds like you received a defective product, as this isn't a common issue. We strongly suggest that you go back to Target for an exchange. (Target makes it easy!) If you would like us to follow up with you, please go to the Battat website and fill out our customer service form. We always try to make sure that all of our customers are completely satisfied! Sincerely, Team Battat.
quality: 3 out of 5
broad age appeal: 4 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Best toy

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
LoL fav - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
This is an amazing toy!!! It has everything the dolls need. This big but worth it!!!
value: 5 out of 5
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Perfect!

5 out of 5 stars
VickNil - 8 months ago
Starting out I just want to state that I bought this used. I got it at a much cheaper price because it was used, but my kids love it. They love the phone, the music and the food. The dolls are a little difficult getting them in and out of the seats and the stools have not worked well for us for seating, but are more of decorations. They love having MaryEllen work in the diner and another girl they named Pearl also works there. A lot of the dolls friends go visit them at work and we all enjoy playing together. I love all of Our Generations playsets and would recommend them all to anyone who likes American Girl brand. These are amazing quality but more affordable, these are still a little much for us but a lot better than American girl pricing. These sets provide a lot of fun and imaginative play for kids and I will always support that! My daughters are 4 and 7
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Worth the $$$

5 out of 5 stars
- 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
Such an adorable Diner!! Fits up to 5 dolls, including one behind the counter. Great size, lots of accessories. My daughter loves it and so do I. Compared to American Girl play sets, this is the perfect affordable option.
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Button for lights not installed and no electronics work

1 out of 5 stars
Jules - 9 months ago
The button for the lights isnt drilled/installed. The juke box doesnt work. Nothing electronic works. Defective. Not happy.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 9 months ago
Hi Jules! We’re sorry to hear that! We really want your little one to enjoy playing with the Our Generation Retro Diner! It does sound like you received a defective product, as these aren't common issues. We strongly suggest that you go back to Target for an exchange. (Target makes it easy!) If you would like us to follow up with you, please go to the Battat website and fill out our customer service form. We always try to make sure that all of our customers are completely satisfied! Sincerely, Team Battat.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
broad age appeal: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Quality sucks

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
BRL - 10 months ago, Verified purchaser
Packaging great quality is awful! The sugar and salt had already spilled out all over everything when I opened it. Apparently it wasn’t sealed good. The stools are not secure so what’s the point? It’s cute but it’s not functional. It would be nice if there was somewhere to store the accessories like other sets we’ve had in the past in the diner. It came with a pad for orders but the pencil is just for looks. It could’ve been better. A “working” milkshake machine and a shelf or something for when the orders are finished would’ve been cute too. The quality just isn’t there.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 9 months ago
Hi Underwhelmed! We’re sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the quality of the OG Retro Diner! Your feedback has been forwarded to our design and engineering teams for review. We always appreciate honest reviews - whether in our favor or not! it helps us make our toys better. Sincerely, Team Battat.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
broad age appeal: 2 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Great toy

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Susy88 - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
My girls liked how realistic it looked and that you were able to play music.
value: 5 out of 5
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great price

5 out of 5 stars
Autumn - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
Fast delivery and quality product. My daughter loves it. Much more affordable than American Girl items.
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Love it!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Cassie - 2 years ago
We love OG products. This one does not disappoint. As always, the diner is very detailed and has so much to do. My two, three, and five year olds play with this for hours.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

The diner electronics don't work.

2 out of 5 stars
VJ2021 - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
I ordered the diner for my granddaughter for Christmas who lives 12 hours away. She visited for Christmas.It arrived Christmas eve.I did not get to test it to see if it worked.I wrapped for my granddaughter .She opened it and the lights did not work and the jukebox did not work.She was very disappointed.I bought new batteries but it still did't work.I sent 3 emails to the manufacturer.I was never contacted by the company.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 2 years ago
Hi VJ2021! We’re sorry to hear that! We really want your granddaughter to enjoy playing with the Our Generation Retro Diner. As you can imagine, this is the busiest time for our customer service department. We are sorry to hear that you haven't received a reply from us, but we ask for your patience as we make our way through the questions and comments we receive shortly after the holidays. The best way to reach us is through our customer service form on our website. If you fill out this form, a ticket will be created and we will respond in the same order that it is received, as quickly as possible. Sincerely, Team Battat.
8 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
AT - 2 years ago
Great Christmas gift for my daughter last year. She still plays with it often and it has held up well. The music is a great feature. Really fun set for the price!
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Super cute

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
MSB - 2 years ago
My daughter got this for her 9th birthday. She really loves the music and the 50s theme. I also order the waitress outfit with roller skated and she got a huge kick out of that. The restaurant is pretty cute and the dolls can sit at the table without any issue. She likes to get all of the food displayed just right.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fun for Granddaughters

5 out of 5 stars
Delta - 2 years ago
My granddaughters have a complete room dedicated to theirAmerican Girl Dolls. This was recently added and they love playing with it. But, they didn’t know what a juke box is.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
- 2 years ago
Awesome quality for a great price
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Poor customer service

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Nicole - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
This was my first time purchasing a toy from Battat and will my last. The brand new toy's electronics did not work from the start. The button for the jukebox does not work despite new batteries--not able to be pressed. I emailed the Battat company back and forth five times for them to tell me to return it to the store (bought online). I will not be taking this giant toy back to the store. My girls were very disappointed. I should have listened to the other reviewers. Other reviewers mentioned additional lights not working?? I guess the one I got only has the jukebox. Very confusing.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 2 years ago
Hi Nicole! We are obviously very sorry to hear that! After speaking with the customer service department, we'd like to encourage you to provide the photos that were requested. The suggestion of returning the item to the store was only to ensure that you purchased the version of the Diner that you were expecting. We definitely want you to be satisfied with your purchase, because we are proud of the quality of our toys, and we know that your daughters will enjoy many hours of play with the Our Generation line. Sincerely, Team Battat
broad age appeal: 4 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Disappointing

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
LK - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
This is my least favorite set from OG, and we have a ton of their stuff including the food truck and ice cream truck. First of all, we have the same problem as a previous reviewer with the lights not working because the button is fixed and cannot be pressed. Then some of the pieces are meh. The bacon looks nothing like bacon and several of the meals are stuck to the plates. Additionally, the one photo of the set still boxed on here shows fish sticks and play money that weren’t in our set. My daughter bought this set with her own money because she makes doll videos for YouTube. She is disappointed about the lights and that some of the items in the photo weren’t included in her set.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 3 years ago
Hi there! We’re sorry to hear that! We really want your daughter to continue to enjoy playing with Our Generation products. (Congrats to her for creating videos on YouTube. Very cool!) Please go to the Battat website and fill out our customer service form so that we can follow up and make sure that you are completely satisfied! Sincerely, Team Battat.
broad age appeal: 3 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Lighting element in Diner does not work

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
disappointed - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
Normally I would give high marks for any OG product, but the lighting element does not work. I also purchased the Theater and one of the the lighting elements does not work. Two large products without working lighting elements is very disappointing and I think the company needs to reevaluate their products. I reached out to customer care and the dialogue was as follows: ------------------------- Re: Our Generation: Do lights work on retro diner? Jan 6 at 5:30 PM PrintRaw message Battat Customer Care Hello , Under counter top is a button. That should light up your Retro Diner. Have a nice day. Team OG On Fri, 27 Dec, 2019 at 3:23 PM , wrote: Hello, I'm writing to ask if the lights on the counter for the Our Generation bite to eat retro Diner actually work? I cannot find a button that works and in some online videos they appear to light up but it will not light on our set. The juke box works fine. -------------------------- The button does not move; it cannot be pressed. It's as if it's a hard piece of plastic, no spring element.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 3 years ago
Hi there! We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with the lights on the Our Generation Retro Diner! We really want your little one to enjoy playing with all the amazing features of this item. Your comments above have been added to your customer care ticket. Someone from the OG team will be in touch. We want to make sure that you are completely satisfied! Sincerely, Team Battat.
broad age appeal: 3 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads