Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

14 Hollow Road - by Jenn Bishop (Hardcover)

14 Hollow Road -  by Jenn Bishop (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1

About this item

A warm summer novel about a community banding together in the wake of a tornado, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Kate Messner, and Jeanne Birdsall.  The night of the sixth-grade dance is supposed to be perfect for Maddie: she’ll wear her perfect new dress, hit the dance floor with her friends, and her crush, Avery, will ask her to dance. But as the first slow song starts to play, her plans crumble. Avery asks someone else to dance instead—and then the power goes out.   Huddled in the gym, Maddie and her friends are stunned to hear that a tornado has ripped through the other side of town, destroying both Maddie’s and Avery’s homes.   Kind neighbors open up their home to Maddie’s and Avery’s families, which both excites and horrifies Maddie. Sharing the same house . . . with Avery? For the entire summer? While it buys her some time to prove that Avery made the wrong choice at the dance, it also means he’ll be there to witness her morning breath and her annoying little brother.   At the dance, all she wanted was to be more grown-up. Now that she has no choice, is she really ready for it?Praise for 14 Hollow Road:A Kansas National Education Association Reading Circle Selection"Bishop nails the tween voice: Maddie is a realistic heroine who deals with typical middle-grade problems amidst disaster, and she navigates upheavals with occasional grace and more frequent missteps."--Booklist "The emotional impact of this coming-of-age novel lies in its sensitive exploration of Maddie’s changing friendships in the transition from elementary school to junior high...Readers going through the messy transition into adolescence will find hope in the newly strengthened friendships with which Maddie enters seventh grade."--The Bulletin"The hopeful tone and conversational writing style make this an accessible read."--SLJ“This gorgeous summer tale will hit the spot with fans of The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall and Gertie’s Leap to Greatness by Kate Beasley.” —Erin E. Moulton, author of Flutter and Keepers of the Labyrinth
Number of Pages: 280
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Friendship
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Age Range: 9-12 years
Author: Jenn Bishop
Language: English
Street Date: June 13, 2017
TCIN: 52149849
UPC: 9781101938751
Item Number (DPCI): 248-42-6643
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$11.89
MSRPwas $16.99

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.