Loading, please wait...

All Rights Reserved - (Word$) by Gregory Scott Katsoulis (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 400

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Science Fiction

Series Title: Word$

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: General

Author: Gregory Scott Katsoulis

Language: English

Street Date: August 29, 2017
TCIN: 52094152
UPC: 9780373212446
Item Number (DPCI): 248-41-1974
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"Speth Jime is anxious to deliver her Last Day speech and celebrate her transition into adulthood. The moment she turns fifteen, Speth must pay for every word she speaks ('Sorry' is a flat ten dollars and a legal admission of guilt), for every nod ($0.99/sec), for every scream ($0.99/ sec) and even every gesture of affection. She's been raised to know the consequences of falling into debt, and can't begin to imagine the pain of having her eyes shocked for speaking words that she's unable to afford"--Dust jacket flap.



Book Synopsis



In a world where every word and gesture is copyrighted, patented or trademarked, one girl elects to remain silent rather than pay to speak, and her defiant and unexpected silence threatens to unravel the very fabric of society.

Speth Jime is anxious to deliver her Last Day speech and celebrate her transition into adulthood. The moment she turns fifteen, Speth must pay for every word she speaks ("Sorry" is a flat ten dollars and a legal admission of guilt), for every nod ($0.99/sec), for every scream ($0.99/sec) and even every gesture of affection. She's been raised to know the consequences of falling into debt, and can't begin to imagine the pain of having her eyes shocked for speaking words that she's unable to afford.

But when Speth's friend Beecher commits suicide rather than work off his family's crippling debt, she can't express her shock and dismay without breaking her Last Day contract and sending her family into Collection. Backed into a corner, Speth finds a loophole: rather than read her speech--rather than say anything at all--she closes her mouth and vows never to speak again. Speth's unexpected defiance of tradition sparks a media frenzy, inspiring others to follow in her footsteps, and threatens to destroy her, her family and the entire city around them.



Review Quotes




ABA Indiebound - 2017 Summer/Fall Indies Introduce Pick

ABA Indiebound - Autumn 2017 Kids' Indie Next List Pick

A chilling, unnerving, and timely debut novel about what it means to speak out, even in silence.
-Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of The Thousandth Floor

A nightmarish future...Fast-paced action sequences...A fresh and detailed dystopian tale. -Kirkus

By the end of this first book, readers will be thinking about every word they speak, knowing, as Speth does, that 'words matter.' -Booklist

Between the clever premise and the protagonist's stand against a repressive society, Katsoulis's work is timely and will appeal to fans of Dan Wells's Bluescreen, M.T. Anderson's Feed, Cecelia Ahern's Flawed, or Scott Westerfeld's Uglies [series]. -School Library Journal

Though she doesn't speak, Speth has been given a distinctive and memorable voice by Gregory Scott Katsoulis. All Rights Reserved is both deeply troubling and utterly captivating; a must read for fans of the dystopic, and more specifically of M.T. Anderson's Feed. -Shelf Awareness

Intense... A provocative setup. -Publishers Weekly

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.4 inches width x 8.2 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.05 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), APO/FPO, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.