Loading, please wait...

All Summer Long - (Eagle Rock) by Hope Larson (Hardcover)

All Summer Long - (Eagle Rock) by  Hope Larson (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
All Summer Long - (Eagle Rock) by  Hope Larson (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 176

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Series Title: Eagle Rock

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr)

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: General

Author: Hope Larson

Language: English

TCIN: 53504472
UPC: 9780374304850
Item Number (DPCI): 248-74-2014

Description

*A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2018!*
*A 2019 YALSA Great Graphic Novel Reading List Selection*
*A 2019 Little Maverick Graphic Novel Reading List Selection*
*An Eisner Award Nominee!*

"Whereas in early childhood friendships take shape by reason of proximity, later they alter as interests diverge and new bonds form, and Larson's story tracks this painful, exhilarating process." --The New York Times Book Review

"Larson's panels are superb at revealing emotional conflict, subtext, and humor within the deceptively simple third-person limited plot, allowing characters to grow and develop emotionally over only a few spreads. A coming-of-age story as tender and sweet as a summer evening breeze." --Kirkus starred review

"Most crucial is the portrait that Larson (Mercury) draws of Bina as a guitarist and songwriter, a musician whose deepest fulfillment comes from within herself. Larson's graphic novel zeroes in on conversational encounters, with dialogue that's fresh and funny ("You're a stone-cold psycho and I kinda admire that," Charlie tells Bina when they begin to hang out), and her close-up drawings of expressive faces add intimacy to the interchanges she captures." --Publishers Weekly

"With much of this tight-knit family's backstory delivered visually or through brief exchanges of dialogue, characters' diversity of race, lifestyle, and sexual orientation emerge organically through the tidily framed black, white, and gold artwork. Use this with Brosgol's Be Prepared (BCCB 4/18) and Jamieson's Roller Girl (BCCB 4/15) and All's Faire in Middle School (BCCB 10/17) for an easygoing graphic novel take on how to spend summer vacation." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"This sensitive, relatable graphic novel explores many familiar touchstones of adolescence as Bina seeks her place in the world... A limited palette keeps the focus on the story and character development, and Larson's expressive drawings add to the emotional resonance of the teen's journey to self-discovery...Fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile and Shannon Hale's Real Friends will eagerly embrace this work. A charming addition to any graphic novel collection.--School Library Journal

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.