:

product description page

Amatka - by Karin Tidbeck (Paperback)

Amatka -  by Karin Tidbeck (Paperback) - image 1 of 1

About this item

ONE OF THE GUARDIAN’S BEST SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY BOOKS OF 2017A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk.In Karin Tidbeck’s world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing—not even language, nor the very fabric of reality—can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.
Number of Pages: 216
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Inc
Author: Karin Tidbeck
Language: English
Street Date: June 27, 2017
TCIN: 52149929
UPC: 9781101973950
Item Number (DPCI): 248-42-6485
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$10.84
MSRPReg: $15.95 Save $5.11 (32% off)

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.