product description page

American Ace (Reprint) (Paperback) (Marilyn Nelson)

American Ace (Reprint) (Paperback) (Marilyn Nelson) - image 1 of 1

about this item

This novel in verse, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Toni Morrison, explores American history and race through the eyes of a teen boy embracing his newfound identity.  Connor’s grandmother leaves his dad a letter when she dies, and the letter’s confession shakes their tight-knit Italian-American family: The man who raised Dad is not his birth father.   But the only clues to this birth father’s identity are a class ring and a pair of pilot’s wings. And so Connor takes it upon himself to investigate—a pursuit that becomes even more pressing when Dad is hospitalized after a stroke. What Connor discovers will lead him and his father to a new, richer understanding of race, identity, and each other.
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 128.0
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Age Range: Teen
Author: Marilyn Nelson
Language: English
Street Date: January 3, 2017
TCIN: 51755973
UPC: 9780147517678
Item Number (DPCI): 248-31-7985

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.