Loading, please wait...

American Detox - by Kerri Kelly (Paperback)

American Detox - by  Kerri Kelly (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
American Detox - by  Kerri Kelly (Paperback) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up

Number of Pages: 320

Genre: Health + Wellness

Sub-Genre: Healthy Living

Format: Paperback

Publisher: North Atlantic Books

Author: Kerri Kelly

Language: English

Street Date: June 7, 2022
TCIN: 84617297
UPC: 9781623177249
Item Number (DPCI): 247-26-6387
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"For readers of Hope in the Dark and Natural Causes--The myth of wellness is a lie. And until we learn to confront and dismantle its toxic systems, we can't ever be well"--



Book Synopsis



"An intimate, honest, accountable, and thorough invitation into healing" -- adrienne maree brown, author of Pleasure Activism

"This book is a powerhouse." -- Ashley Judd

The myth of wellness is a lie. And until we learn to confront and dismantle its toxic systems, we can't ever be well.

Better, stronger, healthier, whole--the wellness industry promises us that with enough intention, investment, and positive thinking, we'll unlock our best selves and find meaning and purpose in a chaotic and confusing world.

The problem? It's a lie.

The industry soars upwards of $650 billion a year, but we're still isolated, insecure, and inequitable. "Wellness" isn't making us well; it's making us worse.

It diverts our attention and holds us back from asking the questions that do help us heal: Who gets to be well in America? Who's harmed--and who's left out? And what's the real-life cost of our obsession with self-improvement?

To be truly well, we don't need juice fasts or yoga fads. We need to detox from a culture rooted in perfectionism, white supremacy, and individualism--and move toward a model that embodies mutual responsibility and extends beyond self-help to collective care.

In American Detox, organizer, yoga activist, wellness disruptor, and CTZNWELL founder Kerri Kelly sounds the wake-up call. It's time to commit to the radical work of unlearning the toxic messages we've been fed--to resist, disrupt, and dream better futures of what wellness really means.



Review Quotes




An intimate, honest, accountable, and thorough invitation into healing.
--adrienne maree brown, author of Pleasure Activism

American Detox is not only a wake-up call but a call to remember that if some of us aren't well, none of us are well.
--MICHELLE C. JOHNSON, author of Finding Refuge

Urgent and unflinching.
--NICOLE CARDOZA, founder of Reclamation Ventures, author, and magician

This book is a powerhouse.
--ASHLEY JUDD, American actress and political activist

A brilliant call for the reimagining of what it means to be well in our world.
--TARA BRACH, author of Trusting the Gold

American Detox [reminds] us that we cannot purchase our way into well-being. It is built of the materials of interconnectedness and belonging, and without them we can't manifest the highest form of wellness which is humanity's wholeness.
--SONYA RENEE TAYLOR, author of the New York Times best seller, The Body Is Not an Apology

Kerri Kelly is radically committed to our well-being by teaching us how to 'be well'--within ourselves and with one another."
--LAYLA F. SAAD, New York Times best-selling author of Me and White Supremacy

American Detox is a blueprint for collective wellness, from an activist and healer who walks the walk with integrity, grace, and a revolutionary love.
--VALARIE KAUR, Sikh activist and best-selling author of See No Stranger

This book offers the reframe that is needed in a culture desperately seeking wellness and perfection while being bankrupt of the remembrance of our inherent wholeness.
--TRACEE STANLEY, best-selling author of Radiant Rest

Kerri, with her trademark dedication to fierce and honest self-examination, holds both herself and the culture of wellness accountable for the social dis-ease that continues to segregate health among its diverse citizenry.
--SEANE CORN, author of Revolution of the Soul

This book is a valiant, brave, and timely compass and tool that we need right now as so many navigate the often wild, predatory, and ailing space of the so-called wellness industry.
-- OCTAVIA RAHEEM, founder of Starshine & Clay, a meditation and yoga studio for Black women and women of color, and author of Pause, Rest, Be

... a call-to-action to improve the wellness of our communities and the world at large, too.
--SAH D'SIMONE, spiritual revolutionary and best-selling author of 5-Minute Daily Meditations





About the Author



KERRI KELLY is the founder of CTZNWELL, a movement that is democratizing wellbeing for all. A descendant of generations of firemen and first responders, Kelly has dedicated her life to kicking down doors and fighting for justice. She's been teaching yoga for over 20 years and is known for making waves in the wellness industry by challenging norms, disrupting systems and mobilizing people to act. A community organizer and wellness activist, Kelly is recognized across communities for her inspired work to bridge transformational practice with social justice. Kelly is a powerful facilitator, TED speaker and is the host of the prominent podcast CTZN. You can learn more about her work at kerrikelly.co and ctznwell.org.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 6 inches width x 9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.81 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.