Loading, please wait...
American Royals - by  Katharine McGee - image 1 of 1
American Royals - by  Katharine McGee - image 1 of 1
Format Hardcover

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x 5.7 Inch (W) x 1.6 Inch (D)

Weight: 1.25 Pounds

Suggested Age: 13-19 Years

Number of Pages: 448

Format: Hardcover

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Sub-Genre: Royalty

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Author: Katharine McGee

Book theme: General

Language: English

Street Date: September 3, 2019
TCIN: 76548969
UPC: 9781984830173
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-1782
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



In an alternate America, princesses Beatrice and Samantha Washington and the two girls wooing their brother, Prince Jefferson, become embroiled in high drama in the most glorious court in the world.



Book Synopsis



New York Times Bestseller

What if America had a royal family? If you can't get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown.
Two girls vying for the prince's heart.
This is the story of the American royals.

When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. Like most royal families, the Washingtons have an heir and a spare. A future monarch and a backup battery. Each child knows exactly what is expected of them. But these aren't just any royals. They're American.

As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America's first queen regnant, the duty she has embraced her entire life suddenly feels stifling. Nobody cares about the spare except when she's breaking the rules, so Princess Samantha doesn't care much about anything, either . . . except the one boy who is distinctly off-limits to her. And then there's Samantha's twin, Prince Jefferson. If he'd been born a generation earlier, he would have stood first in line for the throne, but the new laws of succession make him third. Most of America adores their devastatingly handsome prince . . . but two very different girls are vying to capture his heart.

The duty. The intrigue. The Crown. New York Times bestselling author Katharine McGee imagines an alternate version of the modern world, one where the glittering age of monarchies has not yet faded--and where love is still powerful enough to change the course of history.

The lives of the American royal family will hook you in the very first pages and never let go. Relatable, believable, fantastical, aspirational, and completely addictive. --Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Pretty Little Liars and Perfectionists series



Review Quotes



"With elegance, saucy secrets, and forbidden love, American Royals is fast-paced and utterly charming. Katharine McGee's prose sparkles, capturing the glamour and pressures of an American monarchy." --Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series

"Inventive, fresh, and deliciously romantic--American Royals is an absolute delight!" --Sarah J. Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series and Court of Thorns and Roses series

"Imagine a world where Meghan Markle is the queen of the United States of America.... American Royals is the next closest thing." -Teen Vogue

For all the glamour and intrigue, there's also a reality check. All four central characters struggle to reconcile the expectations the world imposes on them with the internal selves they discover through heartbreak and struggle. --The New York Times Book Review

"A soapy, escapist blockbuster [following] the drama, scandal and romances of the impossibly glamorous young court. An unabashedly frothy romp, and enormous fun. - The Guardian

A fun, fast-paced read packed with drama, scandal, and romance" --The Sun

"Mixing scandalous secrets and political intrigue, American Royals is thrillingly addictive." --Shelf Awareness

Critical questions tantalize readers through the foibles and flaws of characters who are frustratingly human... readers will eagerly await the next installment to find out whether true love will win or stodgy tradition will triumph." --Kirkus Reviews

"A deliciously soapy American royal family... McGee's characters are well-crafted and flawed, giving the narrative emotional texture that elevates it above the dramatic formula." --Publishers Weekly

"Readers will be hooked.... A fun twist on history as we know it, and the ending will have readers hoping for a sequel." --School Library Journal

"For readers looking for intrigue--and for those who like their royal fever with a twist--this is a quick and delicious read." --Booklist



About The Author



Katharine McGee is the New York Times bestselling author of American Royals and the Thousandth Floor trilogy. She studied English and French literature at Princeton University and has an MBA from Stanford. She now lives in Houston with her husband. Visit her online at katharinemcgee.com. Follow her at @katharinemcgee.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 8.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.27 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars with 4 reviews
100% would recommend
3 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.