Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Anna and the Swallow Man (Reprint) (Paperback) (Gavriel Savit)

Anna and the Swallow Man (Reprint) (Paperback) (Gavriel Savit) - image 1 of 1

About this item

“[A] splendid debut novel. . . . This is masterly storytelling.” —The New York Times Set in Poland during the Second World War, Anna and the Swallow Manis a stunning, literary, and wholly original New York Times bestseller perfect for readers of The Book Thief.  Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Lania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She’s alone.   And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.   The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he’s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.   Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man.   “Exquisite.” —The Wall Street Journal “A graceful story steeped in history, magic, myth, and archetype.” —The Horn Book Magazine, Starred  “This deeply moving debut novel casts naivete against the cruel backdrop of inhumanity.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred  “[A] quiet exploration of love and its limits.” —The Bulletin, Starred
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 232
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: History
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Age Range: Teen
Author: Gavriel Savit
Language: English
Street Date: March 14, 2017
TCIN: 51877274
UPC: 9780553522082
Item Number (DPCI): 248-36-3500
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$9.99
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Ratings & reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.