Loading, please wait...

As Many Nows as I Can Get - by Shana Youngdahl (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 432

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Coming of Age

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Dial Books

Age Range: Teen

Author: Shana Youngdahl

Language: English

Street Date: August 20, 2019
TCIN: 76423228
UPC: 9780525553854
Item Number (DPCI): 248-65-8144
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"Moving between the present and the past, this is the story of a seemingly grounded girl who's pulled into a lightning-strike romance with an electric-charged boy, and the enormity of the aftermath."--



Book Synopsis



A Seventeen Best Book of the Year
A New York Public Library Top Ten Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Best Book of the Year

For fans of All the Bright Places and Looking for Alaska comes a daring, inventive story about love and loss and longing, reminding us that every choice can be a new chance. A dazzling, not-to-be-missed debut. --Kathleen Glasgow, author of Girl in Pieces

In one impulsive moment the summer before they leave for college, Scarlett and David plunge into a brief and irresistible swirl of romance, particle physics, and questionable decisions.

Scarlett and David have known each other all their lives in small-town Graceville, Colorado, where David is just another mountain in the background, until, one day, he is suddenly so much more than part of the scenery. Magnetic, spontaneous, David is a gravitational force. And Scarlett, pragmatic, wry, eye on the future, welcomes the pull he has on her even as she resists it.

Moving between the present and the past, this is the story of a seemingly grounded girl who's pulled into a lightning-strike romance with an electric-charged boy, and the enormity of the aftermath. Smart, bold, and emotionally deep, Shana Youngdahl's debut explores grief, guilt, and reconciling who you think you need to be with the person you've been all along. It's an aching, transporting reminder that between the past that shapes us and the unknowable future, we have only the present to forgive ourselves and forge ahead.

A story you won't forget. --Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door
Mystery...Heartbreak...Hope...Readers will not be able to put this one down.--SLJ
Vivid --Seventeen.com
You'll speed read through [it] --PopSugar
John Green-like, intelligent and peppered with witty repartee --Booklist
Heartbreaking, exquisitely crafted --Estelle Laure, author of This Raging Light
Deeply authentic...Marvelously complex...Readers shouldn't miss [it] --Kirkus, starred review
A complex, compassionately written love story --PW
A definite purchase and must read.--VOYA
Perfect. --Book Page



Review Quotes




"A daring, inventive story about love and loss and longing, reminding us that every choice can be a new chance. A dazzling, not-to-be-missed debut. --Kathleen Glasgow, author of Girl in Pieces

You'll speed read through [it]. --PopSugar

"Plot twists and surprising emotional connections . . . John Green-like, intelligent and peppered with witty repartee. Recommended." --Booklist

"Real relationships, timeless loss, and a story you won't forget." --Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door

Vivid. --Seventeen.com

Grief, addiction, first loves, and traveling an unplanned road are among the many themes explored in this debut novel. . . . Heartfelt yet often sardonic . . . deeply authentic [and] marvelously complex. [A] smart, poignant story [that] readers shouldn't miss. --Kirkus (starred review)

Mystery . . . Heartbreak . . . Hope . . . Readers will not be able to put this one down. --SLJ

"A complex, compassionately written love story." --Publishers Weekly

"Time is relative in this unique blend of romance and drama. . . . A definite purchase and must read." --VOYA

"This heartbreaking, exquisitely crafted story captures the moments of intersection between choice and regret, the circular nature of grief, and everything that is nuanced about being a person." --Estelle Laure, author of This Raging Light

YA literature, some say, is about the moments when one state of being changes to another. In its structure and its story, As Many Nows as I Can Get is a perfect example of this sometimes bumpy, sometimes poignant transition. --BookPage



About the Author



Shana Youngdahl is a poet and author who teaches writing at the University of Maine at Farmington and directs the Longfellow Young Writers' Workshop. One of her greatest joys is helping people embrace the stories they need to tell. Shana lives with her husband, two daughters, and two cats in Maine. As Many Nows as I Can Get is her debut novel.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Mon, Jun 28 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.8 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.2 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, United States Minor Outlying Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.