At Least You Have Your Health - by Madi Sinha (Paperback)

At Least You Have Your Health - by  Madi Sinha (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
At Least You Have Your Health - by  Madi Sinha (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$15.39When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up

Number of Pages: 384

Format: Paperback

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Medical

Publisher: Berkley Books

Author: Madi Sinha

Language: English

Street Date: April 5, 2022
TCIN: 84981186
UPC: 9780593334256
Item Number (DPCI): 247-40-0393
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"Behind the chic veneer of a wellness clinic lies a dangerous secret, in this compelling women's fiction novel from the author of The White Coat Diaries. Dr. Maya Rao is a gynecologist trying to balance a busy life. With three young children, a career, and a happy marriage, she should be grateful-on paper, she has it all. But after a disastrous encounter with a patient, Maya is forced to walk away from the city hospital where she's spent her entire career. An opportunity arises when Maya crosses paths with Amelia DeGilles at a school meeting. Amelia is the owner and entrepreneur behind Eunoia Women's Health, a concierge wellness clinic that specializes in house calls for its clientele of wealthy women for whom no vitamin infusion or healing crystal is too expensive. All Eunoia needs is a gynecologist to join its ranks. Amid visits to her clients' homes, Maya comes to idolize the beautiful, successful Amelia. But Amelia's life isn't as perfect as it seems. When Amelia's teenaged daughter is struck with a mysterious ailment, Maya must race to uncover the reason before it's too late. In the process, she risks losing what's most important to her and bringing to light a secret of her own that she's been desperately trying to keep hidden"--



Book Synopsis



One of Shondaland's Best Books of April 2022!

Behind the chic veneer of a wellness clinic lies a dangerous secret, in this compelling women's fiction novel from the author of The White Coat Diaries.

Dr. Maya Rao is a gynecologist trying to balance a busy life. With three young children, a career, and a happy marriage, she should be grateful--on paper, she has it all. But after a disastrous encounter with an entitled patient, Maya is forced to walk away from the city hospital where she's spent her entire career.

An opportunity arises when Maya crosses paths with Amelia DeGilles at a school meeting. Amelia is the owner and entrepreneur behind Eunoia Women's Health, a concierge wellness clinic that specializes in house calls for its clientele of wealthy women for whom no vitamin infusion or healing crystal is too expensive. All Eunoia needs is a gynecologist to join its ranks.

Amid visits to her clients' homes, Maya comes to idolize the beautiful, successful Amelia. But Amelia's life isn't as perfect as it seems. When Amelia's teenaged daughter is struck with a mysterious ailment, Maya must race to uncover the reason before it's too late. In the process, she risks losing what's most important to her and bringing to light a secret of her own that she's been desperately trying to keep hidden.



Review Quotes




"Sharply observed and laugh-out-loud funny, this cautionary tale about the Goop-ification of modern medicine brilliantly blends satire, suspense, and genuine heart."--Laura Hankin, author of A Special Place for Women

"Madi Sinha deftly blends humor into a heartwarming and sometimes heart-wrenching portrayal of medicine and motherhood and social inequity. I was riveted."--Kimmery Martin, author of Doctors and Friends

"At Least You Have Your Health is an absolute gem of a read. Sinha exposes necessary truths through fully realized characters about a world increasingly polarized in its definition of a successful life...A necessary and captivating novel."--Soniah Kamal, author of Unmarriageable

Scorchingly honest, funny and poignant, and all too realistic, Madi Sinha's novel At Least You Have Your Health brings to bear all that is wrong with the word wellness when it gets into the wrong hands. In a world where privileged women will spare no expense for an IV drip or a lost pound, Sinha has mined the real issues driving the quest for the perfect everything that cripples so many women. Her narrator is the relatable, flawed, doing-her-best friend we all need in our lives.--Elyssa Friedland, author of Last Summer at the Golden Hotel

"A suspenseful and spot-on tale that tackles success, motherhood and privilege with great humor and poignancy. It grabbed me from page one!"--Jane Rosen, author of Eliza Starts a Rumor

A compelling, utterly addictive and timely read that challenges our toxic fascination with the wellness movement and the wealthy, and poses important questions on race and privilege when accessing healthcare.--Lauren Ho, author of Last Tang Standing

Madi Sinha has a knack for writing riveting medical fiction. At Least You Have Your Health is a witty, humorous, and insightful look into motherhood and medicine. Sinha's exploration into wellness is equal parts compelling and compassionate. This delightful novel is perfect for fans of Grey's Anatomy and The Mindy Project.--Saumya Dave, author of What a Happy Family

Madi Sinha is the Liane Moriarty of medical fiction. Suspenseful, smart, and thoroughly satisfying, At Least You Have Your Health offers hilarious and insightful commentary on wellness culture, the wealth gap, and the ethical dilemmas inherent to pursuing the stereotypical American dream.--Kristin Rockaway, author of Life, Unscheduled

"At Least You Have Your Health is full of sharp humor, satire and suspense, a cautionary tale about the Goop-ification of women's healthcare and education, and asks: when does our fascination with wellness become toxic?"--SheReads

"Sinha convincingly explores Maya's struggle between family, work, and self-fulfillment, and offers cogent social commentary on privilege, parenting, and the patriarchy ("women doctors: all the compassion and emotional burnout, none of the power or influence")."--Publishers Weekly

Sinha's latest (after The White Coat Diaries, 2020) is women's fiction that deftly handles various themes such as the commodification of wellness, women in healthcare, and the immigrant experience through relatable characters and smart dialogue. A must for contemporary-fiction readers."--Booklist

[Sinha] tackles each topic with a blend of sensitivity and straightforwardness that will leave readers entertained and more enlightened about female anatomy and the business side of medicine. With a cheer-worthy protagonist, At Least You Have Your Health is a delicious dose of heartwarming characters and good humor."--BookPage (starred review)



About the Author



Madi Sinha is a physician and the author of The White Coat Diaries. She lives in New Jersey with her family. You can find her at madisinha.com.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.1 inches length x 5.4 inches width x 8.2 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.7 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads