Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Barren Cove (Paperback) (Ariel S. Winter)

Barren Cove (Paperback) (Ariel S. Winter) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Los Angeles Times Book Prize nominee Ariel S. Winter explores the secret legacy of an enigmatic family in this “lyrical, unexpected, and curiously affecting” (Kirkus Reviews) atmospheric modern Gothic novel with a delightfully imaginative twist.

Sapien is a relic of a bygone age, searching for meaning in a world where his outdated allegiances to a time long past have left him isolated and hopeless. Seeking peace and quiet, he retires to a beach house at Barren Cove, a stately Victorian manor even more antiquated than he.

He becomes increasingly fascinated with the family whose lives are entwined with the home—angry and rebellious Clarke; flamboyant Kent; fragile, beautiful Mary; and most of all, Beachstone, the mysterious man whose history may hold all the answers Sapien has been searching for. As he unlocks their secret loves and betrayals, the dangerous past of Barren Cove will indelibly change him...and who he is fated to become.

Written in the tradition of Kazuo Ishiguro and Neil Gaiman, Barren Cove is a luminous and surprising exploration of legacy, loss, and humanity itself, that “deserves to be a classic” (Booklist).
Number of Pages: 224
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Pocket Books
Author: Ariel S. Winter
Language: English
Street Date: May 16, 2017
TCIN: 51874468
UPC: 9781476797861
Item Number (DPCI): 248-36-0994
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$10.20
MSRPReg: $15.00 Save $4.80 (32% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.