Loading, please wait...

Beautiful Bad - by Annie Ward (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 9 Inches (H) x 6.3 Inch (W) x 1.3 Inch (D)

Weight: 1.15 Pounds

Number of Pages: 364

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Thrillers

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Harlequin Books

Author: Annie Ward

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: Crime, Psychological, Suspense

Language: English

Street Date: March 5, 2019
TCIN: 54302725
UPC: 9780778369103
Item Number (DPCI): 059-01-2298
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



"There are two sides to every story ... and every person. Maddie and Ian's love story began with a chance encounter at a party overseas, while she was a travel writer visiting her best friend, Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian, her concerns for the safety of their young son, and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo. From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in the day of the killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime"--



Book Synopsis



"Filled with unexpected twists, Beautiful Bad is a riveting read." --Sarah Pekkanen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Anonymous Girl

"The ending will leave you staggered." --Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish


In the tradition of
Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train comes a riveting psychological thriller about a devoted wife, a loving husband, and a chilling crime that will stun even the cleverest readers.

It seemed like such a beautiful marriage...

Maddie and Ian's love story began at a party overseas, while she was visiting her best friend, Jo. Now, almost two decades later, they are married with a beautiful son and living the perfect American life. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian, her concerns for her safety, and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.

From the electric streets of the Balkans to a quiet suburb in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion, culminate in the Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime. Twisty and utterly original, Beautiful Bad shows that appearances are deceptive and even the most seemingly perfect couples have something to hide.



Review Quotes



"Harrowing.... Evocative descriptions and strong senses of time and place complement the intricate, intelligent plot, which shocks and chills." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Sometimes, a book completely takes you on a ride, and there's nothing you can do but hold on and keep turning the pages....You'll be so intrigued to find out who the killer is, you won't stop until you do." --Real Simple

"Readers need to be off-the-charts clever to figure out who's going to kill whom in this disturbing novel." --Toronto Star

"Ward writes with the same compelling energy as you get in a blockbuster Netflix series. The original storyline and the expertly drawn minor characters will leave you suspecting everyone - and trusting no one." --Daily Mail

Beautiful Bad is beautifully written, beautifully twisty - and beautifully twisted. A dark thriller with real psychological depth. -JP Delaney, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Before

As imaginatively constructed as it is compelling. Filled with unexpected twists, Beautiful Bad is a riveting read. -Sarah Pekkanen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Anonymous Girl

You won't be able to tear yourself away from the page. With fascinating characters that chill and horrify, the ending will leave you staggered. -Liv Constantine, author of the national bestseller The Last Mrs. Parrish

"Annie Ward explores a battle-scarred marriage on the brink of disaster in this deft debut. As touching and thought-provoking as it is terrifying, BEAUTIFUL BAD will leave readers spellbound. A buzzworthy read!" --Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl and When the Lights Go Out

"A well-constructed thriller... brilliantly conceived... would do Patricia Highsmith proud." --Booklist

"Recommended for fans of Paula Hawkins, Ruth Ware, and Liane Moriarty." --Library Journal

"Utterly gripping and thrillingly original - I loved the unique settings. Cannot recommend this book highly enough." --Karen Hamilton, #1 bestselling author of The Perfect Girlfriend

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Wed, Aug 4 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 6.5 inches width x 1.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.14 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, California

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.