Loading, please wait...

Bellini and the Sphinx - by Tony Bellotto (Paperback)

Bellini and the Sphinx - by  Tony Bellotto (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Bellini and the Sphinx - by  Tony Bellotto (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Not in stores
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard
Loading, please wait...

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 280

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Crime

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Akashic Books

Author: Tony Bellotto

Language: English

Street Date: February 5, 2019
TCIN: 54305000
UPC: 9781617756627
Item Number (DPCI): 248-49-1377

Description

Included in CrimeReads's list of February's Best International Crime Fiction

Included in Chicago Review of Books's list of Winter's Best Thrillers

"Bellini and the Sphinx is the American debut for the wildly popular Sao Paulo-based crime series written by Bellotto, the celebrated Brazilian guitarist and writer. His private eye, Remo Bellini, is a conscious homage to Philip Marlowe and the classic noir American detectives, but with an identity all his own and a milieu, the streets of Sao Paulo, that are as alive and mysterious as any you'll come across in the genre. American readers have waited too long for this, but they'll finally get the chance to visit Brazil through Bellotto/Bellini's eyes."
--Literary Hub

Included in CrimeReads's List of The Most Anticipated Crime Books of 2019

"Originally published in Portuguese in 1995, Bellotto's series opener introduces Remo Bellini, a private eye in the tradition of Spade and Marlowe but distinctively Brazilian...Bellotto's detective, less ironic and more earnest in his angst than his American counterparts, proves a compelling guide to the passionate world of S�o Paulo."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Previously published in Brazilian rock musician Bellotto's native country, the S�o Paolo-set noir follows private detective Remo Bellini, who is investigating the disappearance of several women connected to the underworld and the related murder of a famed surgeon. Bellotto says he modeled his PI on Raymond Chandler's Philip Marlowe, and that the plot, which involves prostitutes and live-sex performers, evokes two classically intertwined themes: sex and death."
--Publishers Weekly

"Private detective Remo Bellini plunges into the underworld of S�o Paulo in search of [a] missing dancer at the behest of her married lover, a renowned surgeon, who soon turns up dead."
--Publishers Weekly, Included in Spring 2019 Announcements / Mysteries & Thrillers

"Bellini is a classic private eye, having fallen into the career from a failed attempt at the law...If a reader were interested in knowing what hard-boiled detective fiction is all about, this would be a good place to start."
--The Cyberlibrarian

"Bellini and the Sphinx is an enjoyable light ride, with enough variety to keep readers interested."
--The Complete Review

"Tony Bellotto has written his novel in the best noir tradition. The book, in the style of Edgar Allan Poe, grips the reader from beginning to surprising end. Bellini and the Sphinx is a landmark in Western crime fiction."
--Paulo Lins, author of City of God

"Bellotto is one hell of a writer. With an elegant and quick narrative voice, he reaches a pinnacle of excellence and originality that's hard to find around here."
--Reinaldo Moraes, author of Pornopop�ia

"If Marlowe and Harry Bosch are Los Angeles, Matt Scudder is New York and Maigret, Paris, the detective Remo Bellini is S�o Paulo's most complete translation."
--O Globo

Who is the missing dancer Ana C�ntia Lopes? Why did her coworkers, Camila and Din�ia, disappear? What does the voluptuous prostitute Fatima want? Who killed renowned surgeon Dr. Samuel Rafidjian? And what is the role of the hulking live-sex performer known as the Indian?

To confront the puzzle of several sphinxes, most of them female, private detective Remo Bellini plunges into the underworld of S�o Paulo. Little by little, the mysteries unravel in a surprising fashion, until the solving of the final enigma leaves Bellini perplexed, with a bitter taste in his mouth.

Translated from Brazilian Portuguese into English by Clifford E. Landers.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.