Loading, please wait...

Black Coats - by Colleen Oakes (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8.5 Inches (H) x 5.9 Inch (W) x 1.3 Inch (D)

Weight: 1 Pounds

Number of Pages: 376

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Law & Crime

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books

Author: Colleen Oakes

Age Range: Teen

Language: English

Street Date: February 12, 2019
TCIN: 54316205
UPC: 9780062679628
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-1676
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



Ideal for fans of "Moxie" and "The Female of the Species, " this contemporary novel is about a secret society of girls who get revenge on the guys who hurt them. Both cathartic and thrilling, this is the story needed for the #MeToo and #Times'p era.



Book Synopsis



ROSES ARE RED, VIOLETS ARE BLUE. IF YOU HURT US, WE'RE COMING FOR YOU.

Moxie meets Female of the Species in this powerful, thrilling, and deeply resonant novel about a secret society of girls who plot revenge on the men who hurt them.

The enigmatic Black Coats have been exacting vengeance on men who have hurt girls and women for years. The killer of Thea's cousin went free, and Thea has just received an invitation to join the Black Coats' balancings--acts of revenge meant to teach a lesson. Justice for Natalie has never felt so close.

But as the balancings escalate in brutality, Thea's clear-cut mission begins to unravel and she must decide just how far she is willing to go for justice.

Because when the line between justice and revenge is paper thin, it's hard not to get cut.



Review Quotes



"This satisfying feminist tale is so fierce... An explosive thriller that is all too timely in the #MeToo era."--Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Queen of Hearts: "Fans of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland will enjoy the twists Oakes gives to familiar characters. Heart-stopping action makes the pages fly, and Dinah's struggle to stay true to herself amid impossible expectations resonates."--Publishers Weekly

Praise for Queen of Hearts: "This latest in fairy tales retold makes the classic villain less villainous by showing her tenderhearted backstory."--Booklist

"The Black Coats provide[s] pure satisfaction with the idea of fighting back against misogyny and sexism... a relevant read in the #metoo era."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Mindy McGinnis's The Female of the Species meets Ally Carter's "Gallagher Girls" in this thriller with deeper themes about grief and justice. A perfectly paced thriller...this timely page-turner has a strong hook and will not sit on shelves for long."--School Library Journal

"There is fun to be had between the action-packed training sequences [and] dashes of romance, but Coates' main message is about trauma, abuse, who deserves an opportunity for redemption, and who gets to decide... Enjoyably over the top, with some great ethical questions to explore."--ALA Booklist

Praise for Queen of Hearts: "Every good villain deserves an origin story, and Oakes offers a fascinating glimpse into the mad queen's complex and heartbreaking past. The novel offers some wonderful reinventions of Carroll's classic, and fans of Alice's more sinister elements will appreciate Oakes' macabre touches."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Praise for Queen of Hearts: "Oakes continues to weave literary magic as she pulls you down the rabbit hole into a Wonderland like you've never read before."--NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Chanda Hahn
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.8 inches length x 1.3 inches width x 8.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), California, APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., United States Minor Outlying Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.