Loading, please wait...

Black Magic - by Dinah Johnson (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 4-8 Years

Number of Pages: 32

Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Sub-Genre: Poetry

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Square Fish

Book theme: General

Author: Dinah Johnson

Language: English

Street Date: October 19, 2021
TCIN: 82284343
UPC: 9781250822697
Item Number (DPCI): 247-09-7429
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"Black is a look, a taste, a speed, an emotion. It's the surprising stripes on a zebra, the taste of dark chocolate, the scary, exciting feeling of going inside a tunnel, and a mother's voice as her daughter falls asleep. In this celebration of the African American spirit, Dinah Johnson and R. Gregory Christie paint a picture of "black" that is vivid, varied, and proud"--



Book Synopsis



A moving celebration of Black identity that encourages self-love with a singular poetic spirit, perfect for fans of Black Is a Rainbow Color and Woke Baby.

Black is a look, a taste, a speed, an emotion. It's the surprising stripes on a zebra, the taste of dark chocolate, the scary, exciting feeling of going inside a tunnel, and a mother's voice as her daughter falls asleep.

In this celebration of the African American spirit, Dinah Johnson and R. Gregory Christie paint a picture of black that is vivid, varied, and proud.



Review Quotes




"With bright, bold images and poetic phrases that capture a child's exuberance and unbound imagination, Johnson expresses feelings of pride and joy in unexpected ways. . . . You don't have to be black to be swept up by this Magic." --San Francisco Chronicle

"While Johnson's prose is crisp and definitive, Christie's artwork takes the words and imaginatively whirls them in stylized, riotously colored pictures that will remind some of Maira Kalman's work. The exuberance this child feels in exploring black in all its permutations can't help but spill over to young listeners, who will have fun thinking up pieces of black magic in their own lives." --Booklist, Starred Review

"This expressive book combines well-matched text and pictures to pay tribute to the myriad qualities of blackness. Buoyant yet reflective, Johnson's (Hair Dance!) free-flowing verse presents an imaginative girl's musings on the essence of black... With vibrant colors offsetting velvety black images, Christie's (Bad News for Outlaws) acrylic gouache illustrations playfully tweak perspective and scale, echoing the verse's energy and fluidity." --Publishers Weekly

"These early literacy concepts are conveyed in short, snappy lines of text that make the book an outstanding choice for preschool storytimes. The African-American children in Christie's illustrations have a variety of hairstyles and skin tones and are shown playing with children of other races. The bright acrylic colors capture the energy of childhood, and the artist's bold, loose brushstrokes further underscore the dynamic nature of the text, and of the little girl who narrates it." --School Library Journal

"Johnson successfully uses figurative language to describe basic concepts and more complex connections, such as using color to describe emotions. . . . The illustrations are bright and vibrant and provide an excellent contrast to the actual color black, which appears throughout the book. . . . Adults will find this book a great conversation starter with little ones." --Kirkus Reviews




About the Author



Dinah Johnson has written several books for young readers including Hair Dance!, Quinnie Blue and Sunday Week. A professor of English literature at the University of South Carolina, Ms. Johnson lives with her daughter, Niani, in Columbia, South Carolina.

R. Gregory Christie has illustrated many picture books, three of which won a Coretta Scott King Honor for Illustrator: The Palm of My Heart: Poetry by African American Children; Only Passing Through: The Story of Sojourner Truth; and Yesterday I Had the Blues. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.09 inches length x 10.04 inches width x 8.07 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.3 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.