Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Blood Crime (Reprint) (Paperback) (Sebestia Alzamora)

Blood Crime (Reprint) (Paperback) (Sebestia Alzamora) - image 1 of 1

About this item

A multi-genre gothic novel of the horrific early days of the Spanish Civil War in Barcelona, perfect for fans of Roberto Bolaño and Mario Vargas Llosa."Startling . . . Blood Crime (beautifully translated from the Catalan by Maruxa Relaño and Martha Tennent) has a sort of concentrated power that’s rare in horror novels. It’s akin to poetry." —The New York Times Book Review It is 1936, and Barcelona burns as the Spanish Civil War takes over. The city is a bloodbath. Yet in all this death, the murders of a Marist monk and a young boy, drained of their blood, are strange enough to catch a police inspector’s attention. His quest for justice is complicated by the politics, dangers, and espionage of daily life in a war zone. The Marist brothers of the murdered monk are being persecuted; meanwhile, a convent of Capuchin nuns hides in plain sight, trading favors with the military police to stay alive. In their midst is a thirteen-year-old novice who stumbles into the clutches of the murderer. Can she escape in this city of no happy endings?Narrated by a vampire who thrives in the havoc of the war, this stunning novel, inspired by the true story of a massacre in the early days of the Spanish Civil War, is a gothic reflection on the nature of monsters, in all their human forms.
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 288
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Inc
Author: Sebestia Alzamora
Language: English
Street Date: September 19, 2017
TCIN: 52067230
UPC: 9781616958367
Item Number (DPCI): 248-40-3702
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$10.84
MSRPReg: $15.95 Save $5.11 (32% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.