Brown Sugar Babe - by Charlotte Watson Sherman (Hardcover)

Brown Sugar Babe - by  Charlotte Watson Sherman (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Brown Sugar Babe - by  Charlotte Watson Sherman (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$10.69When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 7-8 Years
Number of Pages: 32
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Social Themes
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Astra Young Readers
Author: Charlotte Watson Sherman
Language: English
Street Date: February 4, 2020
TCIN: 79306631
UPC: 9781635921380
Item Number (DPCI): 247-28-0964
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"When a little girl has doubts about the color of her skin, her mother shows her all the wonderful, beautiful things brown can be! This message of self-love and acceptance uses rich, dreamy illustrations to celebrate the color using all the senses: sight, smell, touch, taste, and hearing"--



Book Synopsis



Brown is beautiful. Brown is powerful!

"This is the book I want to give to my future daughter." --Black Nerd Problems

Perfect for fans of Hair Love and Antiracist Baby, this lyrically written, stunningly illustrated picture book is a love letter to the beauty of brown skin and a message of love, acceptance, and pride for all brown sugar babes. A classic in the making!

When a little girl has doubts about the color of her skin, her mother shows her all the wonderful, beautiful things brown can be! "Brown is precious. Brown is feet marching for human rights.... Brown is an after-bedtime-story kiss goodnight."



Review Quotes




"This is the book I want to give to my future daughter, this is the book I want to read to her before bedtime on the days that have brought us tears. In a world that regularly attempts to assert that darker skin, that brown skin, isn't worthy, this particular read is endearing and lovingly ready to be a contender to such attitudes." --Black Nerd Problems

Warm images of children and loving adults in gold and dark browns hues complement the rhyming, poetic text, which is set in a large type that emulates hand printing. Perfect for responding to or preventing the feelings of inadequacy that too often plague brown-skinned children, this book begs to be shared as a read-aloud with cuddles. Soul food. -- Kirkus Reviews

When a brown-skinned child proclaims that their skin color is pink, their mother rejoins with a rhyming poem that celebrates the beauty of brown in myriad forms. (T)he text... provides a creative and uplifting celebration of brownness. Warm digital spreads by Akem, in her picture book debut, extend the poem's messages with stippled, textured digital backgrounds in wide-ranging shades of brown.-- Publishers Weekly



About the Author



Charlotte Watson Sherman grew up in Seattle, a city with natural beauty that inspired her love for the color brown (and green and blue). She now lives in California near a marine sanctuary.

Akem is an illustrator and writer who lives in Vancouver, BC. This is her first picture book.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.5 inches length x 11.1 inches width x 8.8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.88 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy Choices - CAInterest Based Ads