Loading, please wait...

Brown Sugar Babe - by Charlotte Watson Sherman (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 32

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Social Themes

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Astra Young Readers

Author: Charlotte Watson Sherman

Language: English

Street Date: February 4, 2020
TCIN: 79306631
UPC: 9781635921380
Item Number (DPCI): 247-28-0964
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"When a little girl has doubts about the color of her skin, her mother shows her all the wonderful, beautiful things brown can be! This message of self-love and acceptance uses rich, dreamy illustrations to celebrate the color using all the senses: sight, smell, touch, taste, and hearing"--



Book Synopsis



Brown is beautiful. Brown is powerful!

"This is the book I want to give to my future daughter." --Black Nerd Problems

Perfect for fans of Hair Love and Antiracist Baby, this lyrically written, stunningly illustrated picture book is a love letter to the beauty of brown skin and a message of love, acceptance, and pride for all brown sugar babes. A classic in the making!

When a little girl has doubts about the color of her skin, her mother shows her all the wonderful, beautiful things brown can be! "Brown is precious. Brown is feet marching for human rights.... Brown is an after-bedtime-story kiss goodnight."



Review Quotes




"This is the book I want to give to my future daughter, this is the book I want to read to her before bedtime on the days that have brought us tears. In a world that regularly attempts to assert that darker skin, that brown skin, isn't worthy, this particular read is endearing and lovingly ready to be a contender to such attitudes." --Black Nerd Problems

Warm images of children and loving adults in gold and dark browns hues complement the rhyming, poetic text, which is set in a large type that emulates hand printing. Perfect for responding to or preventing the feelings of inadequacy that too often plague brown-skinned children, this book begs to be shared as a read-aloud with cuddles. Soul food. -- Kirkus Reviews

When a brown-skinned child proclaims that their skin color is pink, their mother rejoins with a rhyming poem that celebrates the beauty of brown in myriad forms. (T)he text... provides a creative and uplifting celebration of brownness. Warm digital spreads by Akem, in her picture book debut, extend the poem's messages with stippled, textured digital backgrounds in wide-ranging shades of brown.-- Publishers Weekly



About the Author



Charlotte Watson Sherman grew up in Seattle, a city with natural beauty that inspired her love for the color brown (and green and blue). She now lives in California near a marine sanctuary.

Akem is an illustrator and writer who lives in Vancouver, BC. This is her first picture book.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.5 inches length x 11.1 inches width x 8.8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.88 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), APO/FPO, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.