Loading, please wait...

City of Windows - (Lucas Page, 1) by Robert Pobi (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 400

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Thrillers

Series Title: Lucas Page, 1

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Minotaur Books

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: General

Author: Robert Pobi

Language: English

Street Date: August 6, 2019
TCIN: 76377132
UPC: 9781250293947
Item Number (DPCI): 248-63-4103
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



In the tradition of Jeffery Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme and David Baldacci's Amos Decker, Pobi introduces Lucas Page, a brilliant, reluctant investigator, matching wits with a skilled, invisible killer..



Book Synopsis



City of Windows is moving, breathtaking--a great entertainment. --The Wall Street Journal

"A tough, wise, knowing narrative voice, a great plot, a great setting, and even better characters -- I loved this." --Lee Child, New York Times bestselling author

In the tradition of Jeffery Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme and David Baldacci's Amos Decker, Robert Pobi's City of Windows introduces Lucas Page, a brilliant, reluctant investigator, matching wits with a skilled, invisible killer

During the worst blizzard in memory, an FBI agent in a moving SUV in New York City is killed by a nearly impossible sniper shot. Unable to pinpoint where the shot came from, as the storm rapidly wipes out evidence, the agent-in-charge Brett Kehoe turns to the one man who might be able to help them--former FBI agent Lucas Page.

Page, a university professor and bestselling author, left the FBI years ago after a tragic event robbed him of a leg, an arm, an eye, and the willingness to continue. But he has an amazing ability to read a crime scene, figure out angles and trajectories in his head, and he might be the only one to be able to find the sniper's nest. With a new wife and family, Lucas Page has no interest in helping the FBI--except for the fact that the victim was his former partner.

Agreeing to help for his partner's sake, Page finds himself hunting a killer with an unknown agenda and amazing sniper skills in the worst of conditions. And his partner's murder is only the first in a series of meticulously planned murders carried out with all-but-impossible sniper shots. The only thing connecting the deaths is that the victims are all with law enforcement--that is until Page's own family becomes a target.

To identify and hunt down this ruthless, seemingly unstoppable killer, Page must discover what hidden past connects the victims before he himself loses all that is dear to him.



Review Quotes




Exceptional. --Associated Press

A high-voltage thriller. --Fredricksburg Freelance Star

Pobi superbly probes the depths of all his characters, but is especially masterful in his creation of the way Page can break down the logistics of any crime scene and the ESP-like abilities of Page's handler, Special Agent Whitaker. --Shelf Awareness

Outstanding...the tense plot is balanced by the prickly Lucas's cerebral investigating skills. --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

[City of Windows] is perfectly and exquisitely paced and plotted. Pobi is merciless. There is simply no good place to stop reading and catch a breath. --Bookreporter

Relentless pacing, tight plotting, and a brainy, idiosyncratic new hero make this one a winner. --Kirkus Reviews

Pobi's rocket-fueled plot and strong voice make this a can't-miss hit. --Library Journal

"A stunner. One of the most impressive, compelling thrillers I've read in a long while. The plot moves at bullet velocity. The writing has an electric surge. Robert Pobi delivers a fresh, exciting new voice to thriller fiction." --David Morrell, New York Times bestselling author of Murder As a Fine Art and First Blood: Rambo

City of Windows is that rarest of gems--a page-turner painted with soaring prose that makes you want to read every sentence twice. In Dr. Lucas Page, Robert Pobi has created a unique and modern protagonist, as irascible as he is brilliant. He'll be back and so will I." --Gregg Hurwitz, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan X

I don't have space to list the many things that are done expertly in City of Windows. Just read it and start watching for Robert Pobi's next book. --Thomas Perry, Edgar award-winning and New York Times bestselling author

Robert Pobi has written a winner with City of Windows, a novel that should establish him as an authentic, distinctive and entertaining new voice in crime fiction. --John Lescroart, New York Times bestselling author of The Rule of Law




About the Author



Robert Pobi is the author of several novels, including the international bestseller Bloodman and Harvest, though City of Windows is his first thriller. He lives in Canada.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Thu, May 20 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 6.2 inches width x 9.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.3 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.