Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Cloud Atlas (Media Tie-In) (Paperback) by David Mitchell

Cloud Atlas (Media Tie-In) (Paperback) by David Mitchell - image 1 of 1

About this item

As they weave through, reference, and illuminate each other, these lengthy stories comprise a startlingly original novel. They tap into different time periods (from the 19th to the 22nd centuries), locations (the Chatham Islands, London, California, a future dystopia in what was once Korea) and genres (noir, sci-fi, diaries, dialect narrative). Divided into two sets of tales, the book first progresses toward a central, futuristic story of tenuous survivors in a new Iron Age, then moves back again through the worlds of the first section, culminating--as it began--in the diary entries of a man in the South Seas in 1850. All together, as they comment on the passing of time and the human desire for some kind of redemption, the narratives tell a powerful, complex, and completely gripping story. A New York Times Notable Book for 2004.
Now a major motion picture starring Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Susan Sarandon, and Hugh Grant Directed by Lana and Andy Wachowski and Tom Tykwer ?[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writ's as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page. The New York Times Book Review A postmodern visionary who is also a master of styles of genres, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian lore of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction that reveals how disparate people connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. ?One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is?and should be?read by any student of contemporary literature. Dave Eggers ?Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative. People ?The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet?not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds. Michael Chabon
Edition: Media Tie-In
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres, Fiction + Literature Themes
Sub-Genre: Literary Genres + Types of Novels, Science Fiction + Fantasy, General, Mystery + Crime, Philosophy, Romance, Literary
Format: Paperback
Author: David Mitchell
Language: English
Street Date: October 2, 2012
TCIN: 14240531
UPC: 9780812984415
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-3897
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$12.00
MSRPReg: $15.00 Save $3.00 (20% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.