EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag - Blue - image 1 of 3
Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag - Blue - image 2 of 3
Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag - Blue - image 3 of 3
Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag - Blue - image 1 of 3
$33.99 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Accommodates up to 5'8
  • ThermoTech® insulation retains heat
  • Comfort Cuff™ for soft comfort
  • ZipPlow™ for snag-free zipping
  • Interior tuck pocket for essentials
  • Easy packing with Roll Control™ and Quick Cord™ systems
  • Includes protective stuff sack

Description

The Coleman® Montrose™ 40 Degree Sleeping Bag is designed to keep young adults comfortable in outdoor settings like camping trips, festivals or sports events, maintaining cozy warmth even when temperatures drop to 40°F. It accommodates individuals up to 5 ft. 8 in. tall and features ThermoTech® insulation and a Thermolock™ draft tube to retain body heat. The Comfort Cuff™ design ensures soft fabric encircles their face for enhanced comfort while sleeping, and the ZipPlow™ zipper aids in snag-free opening and closing. The sleeping bag also offers an interior tuck pocket for handy storage of small essentials like gloves or a flashlight. The convenience of packing up is assured by the Roll Control™ system and the no-tie Quick Cord™ system, with an included stuff sack providing extra protection during storage.
Dimensions (Overall): 72 Inches (L), 30 Inches (W)
Weight: 3.5 Pounds
Dimensions (Packed): 11.25 Inches (W) x 21.75 Inches (L)
Closure Type: 2-Sided Zip
Features: Heat-Loss Reduction, Full Length Zipper, Zipper Guide, Compressible, Snag Prevention, No-Tie Closure, Two-Way Zipper, Self-Repairing Zipper
Recommended Capacity: 1 Person
Suggested Age: 7 Years and Up
Shell Material: Polyester
Liner Material: Polyester
Fill Material: 100% Polyester Fiber
Includes: Stuff Sack
Maximum User Height: 68 Inches
Style: Rectangle
Lowest Temperature Rating Fahrenheit: 40
Care & Cleaning: Clean With Water and Mild Detergent, Machine Dry, Machine Wash
Warranty: 5 Year Limited Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869
TCIN: 16663375
UPC: 076501172560
Item Number (DPCI): 337-03-0191
Origin: Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

sleeping-bags

all
Sleeping Bag Use Bag Comfort Rating
Summer/Indoor +35° to 50° F
3-Season +10/15° to 40° F
Winter -10° to +10/15° F
Extreme Cold -10° or lower

All sizes in inches unless otherwise noted.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 15 inches length x 10.5 inches width x 10.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 3.97 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: will this fit a 10 year old?

submitted by em - 6 years ago
  • A: Coleman® Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag is designed for young adults up to 5 ft. 8 in. tall. It is a rectangular sleeping bag, 72 x 30 in.

    submitted byColemanConsumerService - 6 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: I believe it will fit.

    submitted byFigaro - 6 years ago
  • A: Yes I bought it for my 11 y/o Daughter and it fits her well. I have also used it before and haven’t had any issues.

    submitted bySho - 6 years ago
  • A: This is for age 7 years and up.

    submitted byColeman Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: is this bag able to zip to another bag?

submitted by J - 3 years ago
  • A: No, our Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag does not have zip 2 sleeping bags together.

    submitted byColeman Team - 4 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Are you able to zip together two sleeping bags to create a bigger overall sleeping bag?

submitted by happycamper - 7 months ago
  • A: Hello! Thank you for your question. Please be advised that if a sleeping bag is bought at same time they can be zipped together. Also, same size bags and rectangular style (NOT Mummy Bags). When zipping to bags together, we recommend to use sleeping bags without a ""pillow cuff"", simply because if you zip two of the ""pillow-cuff-style"" bags together, on one side of the now double wide bag, the ""pillow cuff"" will be on top, which will not make this a very comfortable solution for at least one out of two people. We recommend any of our bags where the top opening is even level on both sides. Please be sure to order two of the same size & style bags. Zip together process: 1. Open both bags completely. Both zipper sliders must be pulled completely down the zipper coils. The starter or pin side of the coil must be completely removed from the zipper sliders. 2. Place the bags one on top of the other, with the liner sides facing one another (liners inside, shells outside). 3. Insert the starter or pin from one of the zipper coils into the sliders on the opposite bag. The starter or pin must be inserted completely into both sliders (the one with the Zip Plow and the one without the Zip Plow) 4. Pull the slider and zip the bags closed. For a mummy bag, you must have one right hand zipping bag and one left hand zipping bag. They must be placed side-by-side, not one on top of the other to be zipped together.

    submitted byColeman Team - 7 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Sleeping bag is fine and how in the heck am I suppose to roll it tight enought to fit in the bag?

submitted by lnette - 2 years ago
  • A: Hello, lnette. Thank you for reaching out to us with your inquiry. Although we're happy you like the Coleman® Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag - Blue, we notice that you find it difficult to roll it back into its carry bag. Allow us to explain how to properly roll it back into its carry bag. 1. Zip up sleeping bag. 2. Fold un half, lengthwise. 3. If applicable, fasted toggle and loop to ensure bag stays in folded position. 4. Start rolling snuggly from opposite end of ties, loop or straps (whichever is applicable). Have ties lying directly on the ground. 5. After rolling bag completely, secure ties, loop or straps. If bag has wrap 'roll feature, continue rolling into attached carrier, tie and transport. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

    submitted byColeman Team - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is there a warranty on bsg?

submitted by Denise - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi Denise, Thank you for your question. We understand that you want to know if the bsg of sleeping also have a warranty. We would like to inform you that bsg and sleeping bag have the same warranty. Please let us know if you need further assistance. Have a wonderful day.

    submitted byColeman Team - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is this sleeping bag water resistant?

submitted by aMomISaJob - 2 years ago
  • A: Thank you for the question. Our Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag and other sleeping bags are not waterproof/water resistant.

    submitted byColeman Team - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Hi the red part that goes on zipper came off how can I fix it thank you

submitted by Hi - 3 years ago
  • A: Thank you for the question. We do not repair tent zippers. You might check with a local tent repair service. You might also try an upholstery shop.

    submitted byColeman Team - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can you wash it in a top loader washing machine?

submitted by A - 4 years ago
  • A: For care and cleaning sleeping bags, we recommend to use only oversized commercial front loading washing machine with a rotating drum action - DO NOT use top loading agitator style machines. Wash warm, rinse cold on gentle cycle using ¼ mild detergent. Use a fabric softener in wash. (Do not use detergents with bleach.) Alternate method, hand wash in bathtub, then wash warm, rinse cold on gentle cycle using ¼ mild detergent.

    submitted byColeman Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can you unzip it to lay flat completely so it could be used as a comforter?

submitted by dandam - 4 years ago
  • A: Yes you can. You may unzip all the way and across the bottom to use it as a comforter.

    submitted byColeman Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this sleeping bag get keep you cool on warm nights or does it get hot?

submitted by Ckg871 - 5 years ago
  • A: Sleeping bag's primary mission is to contain that natural body heat for you. It does not keep you cold on warm nights.

    submitted byColeman Team - 5 years ago
    Brand expert

Coleman Sleeping Bags Collections

About the collection
For Backyard Base Camp or Wish List Camping Trips: Coleman® Sleeping Bags

Find the right sleeping bag for a great night under the stars. When the outside is calling, make sure you’re prepared with a Coleman sleeping bag. Rest easy with features like Thermolock™ draft tube along the zipper which helps lock in heat, Roll Control™ for quick and easy folding, and a snag-preventing ZipPlow™ zipper. Ready to wrap it up? The Quick Cord™ tying system keeps the bag rolled up and secure.
View Coleman Sleeping Bags Collections collection
4.4 out of 5 stars with 159 reviews
80% would recommend
60 recommendations

Good luck fitting back into sack

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Jonn - 5 months ago
Cute sleeping bag but impossible to fit back in the bag - even for a seasoned scout!!! Coleman’s knows better, seems like planned obsolescence on their part. Oh, and the tie-strings…are you even serious?!?! Do better guys.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Ok sleeping bag, storage bag useless

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
AmyR - 7 months ago
The sleeping itself is fine. The bag it comes in is worthless. We made it a family challenge to get it back in the bag. All of us followed the recommendations here. No one could get it back in. If it's meant for youth then children should be able to put it in a bag. The cost is too much if there's not a bag that actually works.
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 6 months ago
Hello! We're sorry to hear that the bag of the Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag, didn’t meet your expectations. This is certainly not the experience we want you to have. We constantly make sure that the concerned department is informed of customer feedback.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Its a hassle.

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Net - 8 months ago, Verified purchaser
The sleeping bag was fine. It kept my child warm but it didn’t glow which was a bummer because she was looking forward to that. The storage bag ripped the first time we tried to put it back in. And we haven’t even used it. It was just to make sure it was a good size so then when we went camping It ripped some more and now will no longer hold a sleeping bag in so I may try to return it, or buy a storage bag of my own. I read all the reviews and still decided to buy it so I guess my bad.
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 6 months ago
Hello! We're also dissatisfied that the carry bag of your Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag is ripped. We don't want you to have this kind of experience. Furthermore, we will make sure that your thoughts are shared because we value and truly appreciate your feedback.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Stays warm.

5 out of 5 stars
Tamale - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
I havent had a complaint since buying this for a camping trip. It gets warm but i also dont feel like im overheating. good buy
Did you find this review helpful?

Great sleeping bag

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Gigi - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
I love that it has elastic and buttons to help fold it up and keep it in place. My granddaughter said it was very soft and comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?

Packing bag is too small

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Victoria - 11 months ago
This sleeping bag is nearly impossible to get back into its packing bag. I sent this to camp with my 11 year old son. It came back in a trash bag because it was just too hard for him to get it rolled back up and compressed into the bag. I even gave it a try using the roll method, stuffing method, and tri fold method. I finally got it stuffed back in after literally wrestling it and sitting on it with all my weight. But one end is still hanging out of the bag with no room to spare. I'm going to return and see if I can get my money back.
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 11 months ago
Hello! We understand how difficult it was for you to roll back your Coleman® Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag - Blue. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and valued by the company, and we will make certain that your ideas are shared.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Don't Buy!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Dewsy - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Don't Buy! As other reviewers have mentioned, it is impossible to get this sleeping bag back into the stuff sack and the compression cords are not long enough. I assumed that Coleman had fixed these issues and bought the sleeping bag anyway. Target did not want to accept the return. They would not credit my credit card and reluctantly issued a store credit. Otherwise, it is a nice sleeping bag!
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 6 months ago
Hello! We're sorry to hear that you're having trouble to pack the Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag. We don't want you to have an experience like this. Furthermore, we will make sure that your thoughts are shared because we value and truly appreciate your feedback.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Don't fit in bag

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Not a camper - 2 years ago
This is the first time I bought a sleeping bag. Unfortunately I bought it and returned two hours after. Once you take it out of the bag there's no way to put it back in. The bag is too small and the sleeping bag is too bulky. The sleeping bag is beautiful, nice color and good quality but the bag is a problem. I returned it and bought another one $10 more expensive, the same brand name but larger and it seems that fits better in the bag though I didn't take it out yet.
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 2 years ago
Hello there. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag. We're sorry to hear if the carrying bag of this dleeping bag is very small. We appreciate you for bringing this concern to our attention. We apologize for your negative experience with our product. We work passionately to achieve such satisfaction from our customers by continuously improving our products and services. As we are looking for ways to better our product and service, we always ensure that consumers' feedback and concerns are shared with the concerned department. Please let us know if you need further assistance. Thank you and have a great day!
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Good sleeping bag, sucky bag and zipper design.

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
L - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
Not easy to zip back up from a completely open and flat position! Will not fit back in bay no matter what! Other than that nice bag for low cost. Sent my special needs soon to camp with it and it worked great but even the experienced campers had trouble rezipping it and I couldn’t find a good video of how to do it. Helpful hint: outside of bag is plain blue and the top has a design so merry the zipper with lantern and the one metal zipper tooth and away you go! I’d have taken a video of how to do it but I was concerned about getting it zipped again! Also cords to wrap up the bag are worthless. Even tightly packed, still not getting that thing back in original bag.
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 1 year ago
Hello there! Thank you for getting in touch with us and telling us about your experience with our Coleman® Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag - Blue. We're sorry to hear that the sleeping bag is difficult to zip back up after being completely open and flat, and that it will not fit back into the carry bag no matter what. We appreciate you letting us know about this. We apologize if you had a bad experience with our product. We fervently strive for such customer pleasure by consistently enhancing our services and products. As we are looking for ways to better our product and service, we always ensure that consumers' feedback and concerns are shared with the concerned department. If you have other concerns about your product, such as its warranty, may contact us directly so we can get you the best resolution. Have a wonderful day.
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

The Best & Perfect Sleeping Bag!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Carl James Buehler - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
This an excellent Sleeping Bag to have with you anywhere you go!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

No Quick Cord system!

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Michele - 2 years ago
The product description is inaccurate. There is no special "no tie" system to make this easy to pack. Just four shoelace type cords sewed at one end that are barely long enough to reach around this very bulky sleeping bag. My daughter will never be able to roll and tie it without assistance, and there's no way it will fit back in the bag it came with. Looks like an otherwise nice bag, but very impractical to use.
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 2 years ago
Hello, Michele. Thank you for reaching out to us and taking the time to provide feedback on our Coleman® Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag - Blue. We're sorry to hear that your sleeping bag did not have a quick cord system and that you had difficulty packing it. We appreciate you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for your negative experience with our product. We work passionately to achieve such satisfaction from our customers by continuously improving our products and services. As we are looking for ways to better our product and service, we always ensure that consumers' feedback and concerns are shared with the concerned department. Please let us know if you need further assistance. Thank you and have a wonderful day.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Sleeping bag

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Shanahan032 - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
We loved it! Great for what we ne3d3d
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Low quality zipper

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Gemma - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
The zipper is plastic and broke within 1 month of light use. Would not recommend.
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 2 years ago
Hello, Gemma. Thank you for reaching out to us and taking the time to provide feedback on our Coleman® Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag - Blue. We're sorry to hear that your sleeping bag's zipper broke after only a month of use. We appreciate you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for your negative experience with our product. We work passionately to achieve such satisfaction from our customers by continuously improving our products and services. As we are looking for ways to better our product and service, we always ensure that consumers' feedback and concerns are shared with the concerned department. Thank you and have a wonderful day.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Packs terribly

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Packs terribly - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
This bag is terrible packing, even though it says easy packing. The bag is very thick and bulky, making it very challenging to roll and then fit in the bag carrier. We cannot get it to fit the way it came. I have other Coleman sleeping bags that do not have this issue, and quite honestly did not expect this issue. Very disappointing. This was a bag intended to be an upgrade for my son as he does more camping with Scouts. I'll have to find something else for him.
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 2 years ago
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your experience with your Coleman® Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag - Blue. We are sorry to hear that you had a hard time rolling and packing the sleeping bag back to its carry bag because it's bulky. We appreciate your time and effort for bringing this to our attention, and we apologize that our product did not exceed your expectations. This is certainly not the experience we want you to have. We want to make sure that we provide quality products that have great value, stylish and will suit your needs. As we are looking for ways to better our product and service, we always ensure that consumers' feedback and concerns are shared with the concerned department. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. We appreciate your time and are happy to assist you if you have any further questions or concerns. Have a great day!
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

great sleeping bag

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Ash - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
great size for a young teen.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Much better than anticipated

5 out of 5 stars
Myself - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
I thought, well, this is a cheap $30 sleeping bag and bought it for a trip where I might or might not need it. Turns out....it is really nice for someone who is taller than a kid and shorter than a "full sized adult." And much warmer than anticipated. Well made, zipper works great. I wanted one that was slippery inside so that I could turn over in it easily, and this fits the bill. Plus it's actually pretty. BTW, I'm 72 and not some kiddo. I'm using it while sleeping in an unheated room right now.
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Useless stuff sack

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Margaret3 - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
The bag itself is ok but the stuff sack immediately ripped. You really can’t get it in there. Target refunded me but I need a stuff sack for it now…
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 2 years ago
Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we are sorry that our Coleman Montrose 40 Degree Sleeping Bag stuff sack ripped. This is not the experience that we want you to have. We will make sure to take note of your feedback for review. We are always looking for ways to better our product and services, and your feedback would certainly help us in improving it moving forward. Have a great day.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

.Sleeping Bag

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Alexis - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
Really nice quality and stays cool. Cute pattern too!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Didn't like it

1 out of 5 stars
Me - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
We have been in need of a sleeping bag and had to buy one with out doing my research. I was hoping it would work but I wasn't comfortable in it. I didn't realize the material inside is slipper and moved all around inside.
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 3 years ago
Hi there, we appreciate you bringing this up to our attention and we're sorry to hear that our Coleman Montrose Sleeping Bag isn't living up to your expectation. We would love to address this issue and discuss our warranty replacement process. We normally look for a substitute parts or replacement of the whole item. Please contact us thru Coleman website so we can better assist you. We are looking forward to resolve this to your benefit and restore your faith in us.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Arrived barely holding together- pure junk.

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Athena - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
Poor quality and arrived damaged- threads were tearing through already out of the bag. I'm very disappointed because I had a Coleman bag through my childhood, but this one arrived with a cheaper fabric and is subpar.
1 reply from The Coleman Company team - 3 years ago
Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We hope you will allow us to discuss this further with you. You can reach out to us at 1-800-835-3278, Monday - Friday from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm CST or you can email using the contact form on our website.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads