Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Counting by 7s (Hardcover)

Counting by 7s (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1

About this item

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.


Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn?t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Suddenly Willow?s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

?Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I?ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I?ll never forget.??John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."?Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that?s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."?Maria Semple, author of Where?d You Go, Bernadette

Number of Pages: 380
Genre: Juvenile Fiction, Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Family / Parents, School + Education, Family / Alternative Family
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Age Range: 9-12 years
Language: English
Street Date: August 29, 2013
TCIN: 14608003
UPC: 9780803738553
Item Number (DPCI): 247-08-0738
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$10.79
MSRPReg: $16.99 Save $6.20 (36% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

1
overall: 5 out of 5 stars, see all reviews

Most recent reviews

great!

(would recommend)
5 out of 5 stars
savannie girl 3 years ago
it is truly a great book a little sad but it is very good if you don't like long books this not a good book for you but if you have the time and effort to put in its a good booksee moreof the reviewer's review
Do you find this helpful?
yes (3)no (0)report

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.