Loading, please wait...

product description page

Cubs and the A's of 1910 : One Dynasty Ends, Another Begins (Paperback) (Richard Bressler)

Cubs and the A's of 1910 : One Dynasty Ends, Another Begins (Paperback) (Richard Bressler) - image 1 of 1

About this item

? The Cubs were at the end of the best five-season run of any team in history. The team featured Three Finger Brown, the famed double play combination of Tinker to Evers to Chance, and the other players who together won 530 games in the 1906–1910 seasons. They won four National League pennants and were the first team to win consecutive World Series, in 1907 and 1908. After winning 104 games in 1909 and finishing second in the League, the Cubs came back in 1910 to win the pennant again—they seemed unstoppable. Going into the World Series, the Cubs—favored to win—were at the end of a great run and the Philadelphia A’s were at the start of one. This book tells the story of the changing of the guard in baseball in 1910, and how these two great teams assembled. The narrative takes in the history of early 20th century baseball, featuring men like Ben Shibe, Connie Mack, Eddie Collins, Frank Baker, Chief Bender, and many others.
Number of Pages: 196
Genre: Sports + Recreation
Sub-Genre: Baseball / History
Format: Paperback
Publisher: McFarland Publishing
Author: Richard Bressler
Language: English
Street Date: September 28, 2016
TCIN: 51278661
UPC: 9781476664361
Item Number (DPCI): 248-18-6667
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.