Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Cut Me Loose : Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood (Reprint) (Paperback) (Leah Vincent)

Cut Me Loose : Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood (Reprint) (Paperback) (Leah Vincent) - image 1 of 1

About this item

An electrifying memoir about a young woman’s self-destructive spiral after being cast out by her ultra-Orthodox Jewish familyIn the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, this brutally honest memoir tells the story of one woman’s struggle to define herself as an individual. Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, an ultra-Orthodox Jewish sect that shuns the modern world. When, at sixteen, Leah was caught exchanging letters with a boybreaking a religious ban on contact between the sexesher family cut all ties. Sent to live on her own in New York City, adrift and unprepared for the freedoms of secular life, Leah’s desperate loneliness coupled with her stubborn loyalty to the dogma of her past pulled her into a vicious cycle of promiscuity and self-harm. It took a shocking state of despair to empower her to transform a life of tragedy into a tale of unexpected triumph, one that illuminates both the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism and the broader issues facing young women from all backgrounds as they grapple with sexuality and identity.
An electrifying memoir about a young woman?s self-destructive spiral after being cast out by her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, this brutally honest memoir tells the story of one woman?s struggle to define herself as an individual. Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, an ultra-Orthodox Jewish sect that shuns the modern world. When, at sixteen, Leah was caught exchanging letters with a boy?breaking a religious ban on contact between the sexes?her family cut all ties. Sent to live on her own in New York City, adrift and unprepared for the freedoms of secular life, Leah?s desperate loneliness coupled with her stubborn loyalty to the dogma of her past pulled her into a vicious cycle of promiscuity and self-harm. It took a shocking state of despair to empower her to transform a life of tragedy into a tale of unexpected triumph, one that illuminates both the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism and the broader issues facing young women from all backgrounds as they grapple with sexuality and identity.
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 225
Genre: Biography + Autobiography, Religion + Beliefs
Sub-Genre: Women
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Author: Leah Vincent
Language: English
Street Date: May 12, 2015
TCIN: 17306598
UPC: 9780143127413
Item Number (DPCI): 247-19-2473
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$13.60
MSRPReg: $16.00 Save $2.40 (15% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.