Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance - by Jennieke Cohen

Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance - by Jennieke Cohen - image 1 of 1
Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance - by Jennieke Cohen - image 1 of 1
$14.99When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 13-17 Years

Number of Pages: 448

Format: Hardcover

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Sub-Genre: Historical

Publisher: Harperteen

Book theme: Europe

Author: Jennieke Cohen

Language: English

Street Date: December 3, 2019
TCIN: 76569046
UPC: 9780062857309
Item Number (DPCI): 248-75-0045
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Lady Victoria Aston, obsessed with Jane Austen and content to stay home, is suddenly expected to enter society and find a husband, preferably one who cares for her more than her dowry.



Book Synopsis



The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue meets Jane Austen in this witty, winking historical romance with a dash of mystery!

Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older sister happily wed, the future of her family estate secure, and ample opportunity to while her time away in the fields around her home.

But now Vicky must marry--or find herself and her family destitute. Armed only with the wisdom she has gained from her beloved novels by Jane Austen, she enters society's treacherous season.

Sadly, Miss Austen has little to say about Vicky's exact circumstances: whether the roguish Mr. Carmichael is indeed a scoundrel, if her former best friend, Tom Sherborne, is out for her dowry or for her heart, or even how to fend off the attentions of the foppish Mr. Silby, he of the unfortunate fashion sensibility.

Most unfortunately of all, Vicky's books are silent on the topic of the mysterious accidents cropping up around her...ones that could prevent her from surviving until her wedding day.



Review Quotes




"Contemporary fans of the Austen novels and their screen adaptations will relish this rousing, late Georgian romance." -- ALA Booklist

“While Vicky takes center stage, interspersed perspectives from other characters, including those of Sherborne and his half-sister, deepen the story's themes... Frequent references to then-popular novels and a thoughtful historical note add additional context to this spirited romp.” -- Publishers Weekly

"Charming and fun. Replete with intrigue, grand parties, and romantic entanglements, fans of Jane Austen will positively devour this book." -- Jessica Cluess, author of A Shadow Bright and Burning

"Romance fans and Jane Austen devotees will devour this delicious Regency romp." -- Alexa Donne, author of Brightly Burning and The Stars We Steal

"Bathed in Cohen's richly textured language, Dangerous Alliance boldly shines a light on issues women struggled with historically: abuse, obstruction, and dominance. A timeless story." -- Shelley Sackier, author of The Antidote and The Freemason's Daughter

"A fresh, enchanting addition to the historical fiction genre! The perfect read for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey!" -- Tobie Easton, award winning author of the Mer Chronicles series

"The perfect combination of mystery, intriguing characters, surprising action, and delightful romance. I loved every single word." -- Samantha Hastings, author of The Last Word


If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.6 inches length x 5.6 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. If purchased online with SNAP EBT, this item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. This 90-day return window is required by SNAP.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

Charming Characters and an Engaging Story

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
JBee - 3 years ago
Was lucky enough to read a pre-released copy and I was thoroughly delighted.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads