Loading, please wait...

Death of a Cozy Writer - (St. Just Mysteries) by G M Malliet (Paperback)

Death of a Cozy Writer - (St. Just Mysteries) by  G M Malliet (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Death of a Cozy Writer - (St. Just Mysteries) by  G M Malliet (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard
Loading, please wait...

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 297

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Series Title: St. Just Mysteries

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Midnight Ink

Book theme: Traditional

Author: G M Malliet

Language: English

Street Date: July 8, 2008
TCIN: 77844568
UPC: 9780738712482
Item Number (DPCI): 247-19-3776

Description

A 2008 Agatha Award Winner for Best First Novel

An IPPY Award Silver Medalist for Mystery/Suspense/Thriller

"Fans of English detective work will welcome Malliet's droll debut, the first in a new series."--Publishers Weekly

"Malliet's debut combines devices from Christie and Clue to keep you guessing until the dramatic denouement."--Kirkus Reviews

"Malliet's skillful debut demonstrates the sophistication one would expect of a much more established writer. I'm looking forward to her next genre-bender, Death and the Lit Chick."--Mystery Scene

"Almost every sentence is a polished, malicious gem, reminiscent of Robert Barnard . . . the book is perfect for the lover of the classical detective story or the fan of great sentences."--Deadly Pleasures

"In her series debut, Malliet, who won a Malice Domestic Grant to write this novel, lays the foundation for an Agatha Christie--like murder mystery."--Library Journal

"An affectionate homage to the Golden Age of British crime fiction by a skilled writer rapidly attracting attention."--The Sherbrook Record

"Readers who enjoy all things British, as well as a good whodunit, will find these novels just the ticket."--Free Lance-Star

"This tale cleverly adds modern touches to an Agatha Christie style classic house mystery."--Mystery Women Magazine

"Wicked, witty and full of treats, G.M. Malliet's debut novel has the sure touch of a classy crime writer. More, please!"--Peter Lovesey, recipient of Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Crime Writer's Association and Malice Domestic

"The traditional British cozy is alive and well. Delicious. I was hooked from the first paragraph."--Rhys Bowen, award-winning author of Her Royal Spyness

"Death of a Cozy Writer, G.M. Malliet's hilarious first mystery, is a must-read for fans of Robert Barnard and P.G. Wodehouse. I'm looking forward eagerly to Inspector St. Just's next case!"--Donna Andrews, award-winning author of The Penguin Who Knew Too Much

"A house party in a Cambridgeshire mansion with the usual suspects, er, guests--a sly patriarch, grasping relatives, a butler, and a victim named Ruthven (what else?)--I haven't had so much fun since Anderson's Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy. Pass the tea and scones, break out the sherry, settle down in the library by the fire and enjoy Malliet's delightful tribute to the time-honored tradition of the English country house mystery."--Marcia Talley, Agatha and Anthony award-winning author of Dead Man Dancing and six previous mysteries

"Death of a Cozy Writer is a romp, a classic tale of family dysfunction in a moody and often humourous English country house setting. A worthy addition to the classic mystery tradition and the perfect companion to a cup of tea and a roaring fire, or a sunny deck chair. Relax and let G.M. Malliet introduce you to the redoubtable Detective Chief Inspector St. Just of the Cambridgeshire Constabulary. I'm sure we'll be hearing much more from him!"--Louise Penny, author of the award-winning Armand Gamache series of murder mysteries

"G.M. Malliet's Death of a Cozy Writer is a delightful homage to the great novels of Britian's Golden Age of Mysteries, which lasted from about 1913 to the beginning of World War II: a time when Agatha Christie, Margery Allingham, Dorothy Sayers, and Ngaio Marsh's writing careers were in full bloom."--Nancy Pearl, KUOW-FM

"The connections made by St. Just are nothing short of Sherlock Holmes at his most coherent. A most excellent first mystery!"--Midwest Book Review

"Try Ms. Malliet's prize-winning debut for a classic cozy set in modern times."--Fresh Fiction

"This novel delivers exactly what you hoped it would: a new packaging of the old formula, and a very enjoyable read."--Gumshoe Review

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.