Loading, please wait...

Death Sentence - (Escape from Furnace) by Alexander Gordon Smith (Hardcover)

Death Sentence - (Escape from Furnace) by  Alexander Gordon Smith (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Death Sentence - (Escape from Furnace) by  Alexander Gordon Smith (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Not in stores
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 264

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Action & Adventure

Series Title: Escape from Furnace

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: Survival Stories

Author: Alexander Gordon Smith

Language: English

Street Date: August 2, 2011
TCIN: 13456038
UPC: 9780374324940
Item Number (DPCI): 248-66-0367

Description

"In this third installment of the Furnace series, Gordon-Smith has pulled out all the stops. It is a tour de force of action and adventure... Honestly, this reviewer could not put this book down, having thoroughly enjoyed all of the novels in this series, and will anxiously await the release of Fugitives: Escape from Furnace 4 due winter 2012. Please continue to wow us, Mr. Gordon Smith--your books are a pleasure to read." --VOYA

"Fresh and ferocious, Lockdown will hook boys with its gritty, unrelenting surprises." --James Patterson

"Furnace is hotter than hell and twice as much fun! Sign me up for a life sentence of Alexander Gordon Smith!" --Darren Shan, author of the Demonata series

"This nightmarish start to a new series is unrelentingly bleak, uniquely horrifying, and strangely compelling." --Realms of Fantasy magazine on the Escape from Furnace series

"A great next choice for fans of The Maze Runner, The Grassland Trilogy. . . or Lord of the Flies . . . Recommended for dystopia, thriller, and horror fans, or anyone looking for a fast-paced, spine-chilling ride." --Jennifer Robinson's Bookpage on the Escape from Furnace series

"Readers will be turning pages without pause, and the cliff-hanger ending will have them anticipating the next installment. Most appealing is Smith's flowing writing style, filled with kid-speak, colorful adjectives, and amusing analogies. Fans of James Patterson's 'Maximum Ride' and Darren Shan's 'The Demonata' series will find this satisfying fare." --School Library Journal on the Escape from Furnace series

"Not for the faint-hearted, this dramatic British import is both a page- and stomach-turner. . . The pacing is superb, building on the tension as each horror is revealed while saving the ultimate monstrosity for the cliffhanger ending." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books on the Escape from Furnace series

"Lockdown is a beautifully written book that builds itself up on violence, suspense, and mystery." --A YALSA YA Galley Teen Reader

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

0
No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.