product description page

Divided Command (Paperback) (David Donachie)

Divided Command (Paperback) (David Donachie) - image 1 of 1

about this item

Unbeknown to John Pearce, the private letter he is delivering on behalf of the prime minister carries the dismissal of the very man he is sailing to see. Politics intervene in matters of the sea and the need for a government majority to pursue the war with France means John Pearce must step down as Britain’s best sailor, regretfully relinquishing the position to the incompetent Admiral Hotham. Hotham is equally less than pleased about John Pearce, as he is the one person who knows the truth about his dishonest and wicked naval career. Pearce knows Hotham will try and destroy him any way he can to keep from being exposed, so he must navigate the dangerous waters whilst trying to return to Emily Barclay, the woman he loves.

REVIEWS

"High adventure and detection; cunningly spliced battle scenes which reek of blood and brine, and excitements on terra firma to match."
Literary Review

"David Donachie delivers yet another fun and fast naval yarn in the tradition of Forster and O’Brian, with the added interest of a hero struggling with his not-exactly-chosen career, and lots of fascinating insight on the workings of the Mediterranean Fleet in the 1790s."
Historical Novels Review
Number of Pages: 318
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: General
Series Title: John Pearce
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Casemate Pub & Book Dist Llc
Author: David Donachie
Language: English
Street Date: September 11, 2015
TCIN: 16110234
UPC: 9780749016777
Item Number (DPCI): 247-21-5090

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.