product description page

Dog Beach (Reprint) (Paperback) (John Fusco)

Dog Beach (Reprint) (Paperback) (John Fusco) - image 1 of 1

about this item

Acclaimed screenwriter and creator of the Netflix original series Marco Polo, John Fusco’s “vivid, action-packed tale of Asian gangsters and Hollywood moviemaking” (Publishers Weekly) follows the exploits of Louie Mo, once Hong Kong’s greatest stuntman turned Los Angeles knee-breaker, as his latest target unexpectedly casts him in the role of a lifetime.Leaving behind a successful career as a stunt double in Hong Kong to escape entanglements with the Chinese mafia, Louie Mo now makes his living in Los Angeles as a hired knee-breaker, putting fear into the hearts of people reneging on payments to investors.Troy, an aspiring director with NYU credentials and encyclopedic movie knowledge, is beginning to realize that he’s made a deal with the devil by agreeing to direct a film for producer Avi Ghazaryan. When Avi’s sketchy investors hire Louie to scare Troy into finishing their movie, Troy’s reverence for film and keen eye save him from a beating when he recognizes Louie Mo as the stunt man extraordinaire he once was and begs Louie to take the lead role in the movie based on Troy’s own pet screenplay.For Louie Mo, this chance at redemption might be his last. As his past catches up with him and his body becomes ever more broken down, he teams up with Troy in a race against the clock—and the bad guys—to pull off an impossible film of epic proportions.Dog Beach is a fast-paced, smart, and hilarious thrill ride. Equal parts dark satire and high-velocity action novel, this “poisonously funny Hollywood noir nightmare” (Warren Ellis, author ofRed and Gun Machine) is perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Don Winslow.
Leaving behind a career as a stunt double in Hong Kong to escape the Chinese mafia, Louie Mo now lives in L.A., intimidating people who renege on payments to investors; but when he meets a film director locked into a deal with a shady producer, the two of them are soon risking it all to try to finish the movie?with Louie in the lead role. 30,000 first printing.
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 230
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Author: John Fusco
Language: English
Street Date: December 6, 2016
TCIN: 17386546
UPC: 9781476750354
Item Number (DPCI): 247-46-2811

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.