Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Dogs Are Eating Them Now : Our War in Afghanistan (Reprint) (Paperback) (Graeme Smith)

Dogs Are Eating Them Now : Our War in Afghanistan (Reprint) (Paperback) (Graeme Smith) - image 1 of 1

About this item

For readers of Sebastian Junger, Philip Gourevitch, and Dexter Filkins, Graeme Smith’s brilliant book is a raw, uncensored account of the war in Afghanistan from a young reporter who for several years was the only Western journalist brave enough to live full-time in the perilous southern region.With a new foreword by the author,The Dogs are Eating Them Now is a highly personal narrative of our war in Afghanistan and how it went dangerously wrong. Written by a respected and fearless former foreign correspondent who has won multiple awards for his journalism (including an Emmy for the video series "Talking with the Taliban") this is a gripping account of modern warfare that takes you into back alleys, cockpits, and prisons telling stories that would have endangered his life had he published this book while still working as a journalist. Smith was not simply embedded with the military: he operated independently and at great personal risk to report from inside the war, and the heroes of his story are the translators, guides, and ordinary citizens who helped him find the truth. They revealed sad, absurd, touching stories that provide the key to understanding why the mission failed to deliver peace and democracy.From the corruption of law enforcement agents and the tribal nature of the local power structure to the economics of the drug trade and the frequent blunders of foreign troops, this is the no-holds-barred story from a leading expert on the insurgency. Smith draws on his unmatched compassion and a rare ability to cut through the noise and see the broader truths to give us a bold and candid look at the Taliban's continued influenceand at the mistakes, catastrophes, and ultimate failure of the West's best intentions. And with the American retreat from Afghanistan in 2016 still a point of contention, there has never been a more urgent need for a comprehensive and intelligent look at our war in Afghanistan.
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 298
Genre: Political Science
Sub-Genre: Canada / General
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Pgw
Author: Graeme Smith
Language: English
Street Date: January 12, 2016
TCIN: 50605359
UPC: 9781619026193
Item Number (DPCI): 248-08-8611
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.