Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Dollbaby (Reprint) (Paperback) (Laura Lane Mcneal)

Dollbaby (Reprint) (Paperback) (Laura Lane Mcneal) - image 1 of 1

About this item

A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleansa novel of Southern eccentricity and secretsWhen Ibby Bell’s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father’s urn for good measure. Fannie’s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever beenand Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylumis like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie’s black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.For Fannie’s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby’s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby’s hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.
A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans?a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets

When Ibby Bell?s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father?s urn for good measure. Fannie?s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been?and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum?is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie?s black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.

For Fannie?s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby?s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby?s hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.

For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.

By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 337
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: History
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Author: Laura Lane Mcneal
Language: English
Street Date: June 23, 2015
TCIN: 17225081
UPC: 9780143127499
Item Number (DPCI): 247-03-9530
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$13.60
MSRPReg: $16.00 Save $2.40 (15% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.