Loading, please wait...

Don't Hate the Player - by Alexis Nedd

Don't Hate the Player - by Alexis Nedd - image 1 of 1
Don't Hate the Player - by Alexis Nedd - image 1 of 1
Format Hardcover

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 13-17 Years

Number of Pages: 384

Format: Hardcover

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Sub-Genre: Romance

Publisher: Bloomsbury YA

Book theme: Contemporary

Author: Alexis Nedd

Language: English

Street Date: June 15, 2021
TCIN: 81591717
UPC: 9781547605026
Item Number (DPCI): 247-13-9383
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Sixteen-year-old Emilia, secretly a dedicated gamer, competes with her elite team in a major tournament at the same time she and her best friend are running for class president and vice president.



Book Synopsis



Refreshingly voice-y, wildly smart, and genuinely hilarious. - Casey McQuiston, New York Times bestselling author of Red, White & Royal Blue

From an exciting new voice comes a funny and heartfelt YA romance set in the world of competitive gaming, perfect for fans of Opposite of Always and Slay.

Emilia Romero is living a double life. By day, she's a field hockey star with a flawless report card. But by night, she's kicking virtual ass as the only female member of a highly competitive eSports team. Emilia has mastered the art of keeping her two worlds thriving, which hinges on them staying completely separate. That's in part to keep her real-life persona, but also for her own safety, since girl gamers are often threatened and harassed.

When a major eSports tournament comes to her city, Emilia is determined to prove herself to her team and the male-dominated gaming community. But her perfectly balanced life is thrown for a loop when a member of a rival team recognizes her . . .

Jake Hooper has had a crush on Emilia since he was ten years old. When his underdog eSports team makes it into the tournament, he's floored to discover she's been leading a double life. The fates bring Jake and Emilia together as they work to keep her secret, even as the pressures of the tournament and their non-gaming world threaten to pull everything apart.

Debut author Alexis Nedd has crafted a YA combo-punch of charming romance and virtual adventure that will win the hearts of gamers and non-gamers alike.



Review Quotes




"Refreshingly voice-y, wildly smart, and genuinely hilarious, Don't Hate the Player feels like hanging out with all of your realest, nerdiest, funniest friends. I can't wait to see what Alexis Nedd does next." --Casey McQuiston, New York Times bestselling author of RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE

"In this delightfully entertaining romance, Nedd covers an impressive range of topics with a rare combination of hilarity, sarcasm, and sincerity. Gamers and nongamers alike will squeal, cheer, and boo in this page-turner. A sure winner." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"A great pick for video game nerds and fans of Brittney Morris's Slay." --School Library Journal

A lively game-infused romance. Nedd has the lingo of online e-sports down pat, giving the game and its players an authenticity that many other gaming-oriented YA books lack. Moreover, Nedd ably uses gaming to slice through many topics relevant to today's teens, such as racism and sexism. Gamers looking for a fun, relatable story with depth and heart should absolutely give this book a read. -Booklist




About the Author



Alexis Nedd is a Brooklyn-based pop culture fanthropologist who has only ever loved things in a big, obsessive way. As the Senior Entertainment Reporter at Mashable.com, she covers television, movies, and video games with a focus on sci-fi and fantasy universes like Game of Thrones and the Marvel Cinematic Universe. When she's not writing for money, she's writing for no money on Twitter, where her feed consists of deep dives on weird history (Hamilton and messed-up royal lineages are favorites) and analyzing pop culture as an artifact of society. Her writing has also appeared in Elle, Cosmopolitan, Marie Claire, and BuzzFeed. This is her debut novel.
@alexisthenedd

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.5 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.05 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.