Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Dreamers Often Lie (Hardcover) (Jacqueline West)

Dreamers Often Lie (Hardcover) (Jacqueline West) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Liar meets Romeo and Juliet in this Shakespeare-inspired young adult novel about whether to trust yourself when everyone is telling you your instincts are wrong—for fans of Holly Black, Laini Taylor, andBlack Swan, by New York Times bestselling author Jacqueline West. Jaye wakes up in the hospital, disoriented, and beset by a slippery morphing of reality into something else. She repeatedly sees a boy who she feels like she knows—but that's impossible. Determined to get back to school and back to A Midsummer Night's Dream, in which she's starring, she lies to her sister, her mom, and her doctors—she’s fine, she says. She’s fine, she’s fine, she’s fine. But then on her first day back, she takes a seat in class . . . next to the mysterious boy. Queasy with anxiety ("I can’t see you," she hisses at him, "because you’re not really here"), Jaye realizes this boy is, in fact, real. And he has no idea what she's talking about. Caught between this fascinating, empathetic new kid and her childhood friend turned recent love interest,  Jaye begins to notice unnerving similarities between her circumstances and those of some of Shakespeare's most famous plays. Secret kisses, tingling banter, and clandestine meet-ups give way to darker, muddier incidents. As things escalate to a frightening pitch, how much of what's happening is real, how much is in Jaye's head, and how much does it matter as she's hurtling toward a fateful end over which she seems to have no control?
Number of Pages: 353
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Love + Romance, Social Issues / Depression + Mental Illness, Performing Arts / Theater
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Age Range: Teen
Author: Jacqueline West
Language: English
Street Date: April 5, 2016
TCIN: 50644500
UPC: 9780803738638
Item Number (DPCI): 248-09-9178
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$12.59
MSRPwas $17.99

Guest reviews

1
overall: 5 out of 5 stars, see all reviews

Most recent reviews

Gorgeous book

(would recommend)
5 out of 5 stars
ryanelliott 2 years ago
Really beautiful, ethereal story. Feels like a dream sometimes. Love the way the Shakespearean language is woven into this high school girl's life.see moreof the reviewer's review
Do you find this helpful?
yes (0)no (0)report

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.