Dyson V8 Animal Cordless Stick Vacuum - 229602-01

Dyson V8 Animal Cordless Stick Vacuum - 229602-01 - image 1 of 4Dyson V8 Animal Cordless Stick Vacuum - 229602-01 - image 2 of 4Dyson V8 Animal Cordless Stick Vacuum - 229602-01 - image 3 of 4Dyson V8 Animal Cordless Stick Vacuum - 229602-01 - image 4 of 4
Dyson V8 Animal Cordless Stick Vacuum - 229602-01 - image 1 of 4
$449.99When purchased online

About this item

At a glance

Hardwood
Hardwood
Bagless
Bagless
Battery Power Source
Battery Power Source

Highlights

  • •Powerful Dyson suction and lightweight for quick cleaning. Without the cord.
  • •Up to 40 minutes of fade-free suction*
  • •Engineered for homes with pets.
  • •Versatile for quick cleaning. Converts to a handheld for cleaning cars, stairs and upholstery.
  • •Direct-drive cleaner head sucks up long hair, pet hair and ground-in dirt across all floors
  • •4 Dyson-enginnered tools for versatile cleaning up high, down low and everywhere in between.
  • •Includes the mini motorized tool to remove pet hair and ground-in dirt from furniture, car seats and tight spaces
  • •Advanced whole-machine filtration ensures that allergens are trapped inside the machine, not expelled back into the home. Traps 99.9% of particles, pet hair, dust and allergens as small as 0.3 microns and expels cleaner air.**
  • •15 cyclones work to increase airflow and capture fine dust so your vacuum never loses suction.
  • *Actual run time will vary based on power mode, dust level, floor type and/or attachments used.
  • **In Boost mode. All other modes achieve at least 99.97% filtration.

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 49 Inches (H) x 9.8 Inches (W) x 8.2 Inches (D)
Weight: 5.64 Pounds
Features: Converts to Handheld, Filter, Motorized
Capacity (Volume): .15 Gallon
Run Time: 40 Minutes
Number of Speeds: 2
Bag Type: Bagless
Cleaning Path Width: 9.84 Inches
Recommended Surface Application: Hard Floor, Hardwood, Carpet
Filter Type: HEPA
Hose Length: 0 Inches
Power Source: Battery
Battery: 1 Non-Universal Lithium Ion, Required, Included
Warranty: 2 Year Limited Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869
TCIN: 53882121
UPC: 885609008370
Item Number (DPCI): 329-00-0012
Origin: Imported
WARNING: This product can expose you to chemicals including Di(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate (DEHP), which are known to the State of California to cause cancer, birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov. www.p65warnings.ca.gov

Description

The Dyson V8 Animal cordless stick vacuum cleaner is engineered with the power, versatility, tools and run time to clean homes with pets. The Direct-drive cleaner head sucks up long hair, pet hair and ground-in dirt across all floors. The mini motorized tool with is perfect for cleaning stairs, upholstery and pet beds. The Dyson V8 has advanced, whole-machine filtration that captures pet allergens and fine dust, expelling cleaner air. Thanks to the cordless format, it also transforms into a handheld vacuum with one click so you can clean up high, down low and everywhere in-between. The Dyson V8 Animal cordless stick vacuum includes a wall dock for easy charging and storage. Comes with a 2-year warranty and lifetime Dyson support.  
Hardwood
Recommended for use on hardwood floors.
Bagless
Easily dispose of dirt and debris without a vacuum bag.
Battery Power Source
Product is powered by battery
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 29.5 inches length x 11 inches width x 6.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 11.25 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Northern Mariana Islands, United States Minor Outlying Islands, APO/FPO, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Virgin Islands, U.S., Guam (see also separate entry under GU)
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item must be returned to any Target store.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Our Dyson v8 "Animal" charging dock does not store all the tools, a really important design flaw! Is there an accessory wall mounted rack, or a different dock that can keep all the tools together?

submitted by JEJennings - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi there, this is Tia from Dyson. At this time, the wall dock for V8 cordless models provides storage for 2 tools. Thanks for your support of Dyson technology! Best wishes, Tia Dyson Customer Support

    submitted byDysonProductExpert - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: How many years will the included battery last.

submitted by jv enterprises - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi there, this is Tia from Dyson. Dyson batteries are made to last the life of the machine. However, please note that all cordless machines purchased new from Dyson directly or an authorized retailer include a 2 year warranty. Thanks for your interest in Dyson technology! Best wishes, Tia Dyson Customer Support

    submitted byDysonProductExpert - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Acumulator stops charging properly after 1 year. After 6 months - MAX mode of suction was only 5 minutes and nowadays I have only 1 (!!!) minute of power max mode, normal mode holds about 12 min. What could I do about such an issue?

submitted by Ksenia - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi there, this is Kelly with Dyson. We're sorry to hear that you're having trouble with your V8 Animal. When using in MAX suction power, run times will only be about 7 minutes, after a full charge. MAX power provides a boost of suction power and is ideal for larger debris or more stubborn messes. We would not expect you to require MAX suction for everyday vacuuming. In regular suction, after a full charge, your run time should be 30-40 minutes. We'd be glad to go over your machine with you - please contact us directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com. We will be in touch. Best Wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Support

    submitted byDysonProductExpert - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: can it clean under beds

submitted by Sandy - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi there Sandy, this is Tia from Dyson. The V8 Animal's cleanerhead is not designed to fit under low-profile furniture. For reference, the cleanerhead measures about 4.5-5" high and 8.8" wide. Hope that helps! Thanks for your interest in Dyson technology! Best wishes, Tia Dyson Customer Support

    submitted byDysonProductExpert - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is assembly required?

submitted by victoria - 1 year ago
  • A: Hello Victoria, this is Kelly with Dyson. The V8 Animal requires very little assembly; it's as easy at attaching the wand and the floor tool - and you'll be all ready to vacuum. You can view a great "Getting Started" video for this model right on our website here --> https://www.dyson.com/support/journey/guides/229602-01?machineId=229602-01 Best wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Support

    submitted byDysonProductExpert - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: how do you clean the roller? is it self cleaning

submitted by shawn - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi there Shawn, this is Tia from Dyson! Great question! The Dyson V8 Animal's brushbar is not self-cleaning. However, you can remove the brushbar and rinse under cold water when needed. Just be sure to wipe down the roller with a dry cloth before placing back in machine. Thanks for your support of Dyson technology! Best wishes, Tia Dyson Customer Support

    submitted byDysonProductExpert - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this model come with the wall attachment?

submitted by Gram03 - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi there, this is Tia from Dyson! Great question! The wall dock is definitely included as one of the accessories with the Dyson V8 Animal Cordless vacuum. For product support, feel free to reach Dyson directly at questions.us@dyson.com. Best wishes, Tia Dyson Customer Support

    submitted byDysonProductExpert - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Which cordless Dyson is the lightest in weight?

submitted by AMH - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi AMH, this is Kelly with Dyson. The operational weight of the Dyson V8 (which includes the wand and floor tool) is 5.8 pounds. The V10 is about the same weight, and the V11's are 6.7 pounds. Best wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Support

    submitted byDysonProductExpert - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the difference between this and the V8 Animal+ ?

submitted by Ellie - 2 years ago
  • A: Hello Ellie, This is Miella from Dyson. The Dyson V8 Animal comes with: direct-drive cleanerhead, mini motorized tool, crevice tool, combination tool and mini soft dusting brush. Hope this helps! Miella Dyson Customer Support

    submitted byDysonProductExpert - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does the dyson v-8 animal come with cleaning tools?

submitted by Mp - 2 years ago
  • A: Hello Mp, This is Miella from Dyson. The Dyson V8 Animal cordless machine includes: the direct-drive cleanerhead, mini motorized tool, combination tool and crevice tool. Hope this helps! Miella Dyson Customer Support

    submitted byDysonProductExpert - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
4.2 out of 5 stars with 677 reviews
69% would recommend
143 recommendations

Either Two Defective Batteries or Poor Quality

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
NB - 19 days ago, Verified purchaser
I wanted to love this vacuum, and I did love it for about 6 months, then hated it, then loved it again for another 6 months. The problem is it's battery life is apparently: 6 months. Then it stops holding a charge and needs to be replaced. And I don't mean just a mild to moderate reduction in hold time, I mean going from "This will hold for your entire 2000 square foot home" to "this will start to die 1 minute after you start to vacuum." And that happens almost overnight at the 6 month mark. We got this in January 2022. We have 2 cats and a rabbit. It picked up EVERYTHING and I do mean everything super easily. We would run it on the regular setting for our hard floors (half the home) then on high over high pet-traffic carpet areas. We cleaned the pre and post filters once a month, and everything worked beautifully. May/June comes around and suddenly it starts stalling and then dying, even if it's been fully charged. We check for clogs: none. Replace the pre-filter: still stalling and dying. We contact Dyson and they ask if we've emptied the container (DUH), then they tell us that we should expect the battery life to naturally deterioate (okay, but not within six months and from fully functional to "I cannot vacuumm my house" levels), then they say we shouldn't use the high power setting very much (excuse me, but that's a feature of the vacuum and it cannot pick up all the pet hair on the regular setting so how is this an "animal" vacuum if you're telling me NOT to routinely use the high setting to pick up pet hair???). They finally decide the battery may be defective and send us a new one. Perfect, it works like a dream and we assume the original must have been defective/anomalous. But now here we are in January 2023 and suddenly BOOM same problem. It started sputtering and dying and showing low charge even when it just came off the charger at full charge. It will only run at all onn the low setting and then picks up barely anything, god forbid we move it to the high setting (then it will sputter, stall, and finally die and refuse to turn back on). We've done the same routine: filter is regularly cleaned but just in case we replaced it: nothing. Checked for clogs: none. And now we're faced with shelling out for a new battery, which is about $129. If I'm spending $129 twice a year then I might as well just be purchasing a new vacuum every 18 months. If 6 months is the actual natural battery life for this thing it's a massive rip-off. If you're caring for and cleaning a piece of equipment like this it really should require you to expend some $260 each year. Dyson replaced that first battery free of charge, but I doubt they'll do that again. At this point, I'm not sure this model is worth it and unfortunately the newer models are twice the cost and their batteries are also more expensive. If I'm rating how well it works when it's working? It's 5/5 stars. But when it starts to fail it's easily a 0-1/5. Given the apparently short lifespan for its reliability, I'm saying it's a 2/5 at most.
1 reply from DysonProductExpert team - 15 days ago
Thank you for providing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your product stopped working. We always try to provide a prompt resolution to your needs. It seems like your product should still be under warranty so please reach out to our warranty department at askdysonUS@dyson.com. We look forward to helping you resolve this issue as quickly as possible.
Did you find this review helpful?

Cheap plastic garbage with a high price

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
ebou - 28 days ago
Absolutely not worth the price. We have a small house, no kids, and non-shedding dogs. We use a robo vac for daily maintenance. Therefore, this Dyson vacuum gets very light use. It stopped working about 3 months after we got it. The plastic is all scratched and chipped even though we use it with care. The Dyson reps kept telling me to “send a video of the issue” despite me repeatedly saying there is nothing to send a video of. Well, we had to purchase extra filters on our own. It now works, sort of. No assistance or further troubleshooting was offered. This thing struggles to pick up small pieces of dirt and instead, drags them across the floor and scratches our LVP flooring. I previously had a Shark for years and never had any issues with it. Buy a different brand.
1 reply from DysonProductExpert team - 25 days ago
Hello, this is Kelly with Dyson. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your V8 Animal. It should not stop working after three months of regular household use. We would be very happy to learn more about your experience, and see what we can do to make things right for you. Please get in touch with us directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com. It'll be our pleasure to provide support. Kind wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Support
Did you find this review helpful?

DO NOT BUY

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Doedee - 2 months ago
Worst ever. Barely had it a year and the battery doesn’t even last 5 min.
1 reply from DysonProductExpert team - 2 months ago
Hello Doedee, this is Kelly with Dyson. We're sorry to learn that you're already having trouble with the battery on your Dyson V8. While we cannot guarantee overall battery life, due to the differences in uses across households, we would expect the battery to outlast the guarantee that comes with your machine. We'd be happy to help troubleshoot any issues you're having. You can contact us directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com. Best wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Support
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Wonderful vacuum

4 out of 5 stars
Ria007 - 8 months ago
originally posted on dyson.com
I've had my vacuum about a month and wish I'd gotten one sooner! It's all I'd hoped for... cordless, lightweight, many attachments that are easy to switch out, and powerful suction. It also blows cool air rather than hot air! Love that! Only thing I would add is LED lights!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

best vacuum ever

5 out of 5 stars
- 8 months ago
originally posted on dyson.com
Powerful suction, easy to assemble, quick charge, love this and would buy again and again
Did you find this review helpful?

Good vacuum, but pricey for what u get.

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
CLJ - 8 months ago
This is a great vacuum initially, but beware the charge is not very long. After a couple of years, mine is having a lot of issues. For the money, I think it should have lasted longer. This is my second dyson. I would buy another dyson, but not this model.
1 reply from DysonProductExpert team - 8 months ago
Hello, this is Amanda with Dyson. We’re so sorry to hear that you have experienced issues with your V8 Animal. This is unexpected to hear. While we don’t ever expect any issues to occur, Dyson does back your new machine from an authorized retailer with a free 2-year guarantee. We would value the opportunity to assist you, to help ensure your Dyson is working properly. Please feel free to contact us directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com. Best wishes, Amanda Dyson Customer Support
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Dysfunctional with common problem

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
RachelG - 8 months ago
This came broken - the roller part of the wand never worked, whether it was plugged directly into the motor or into the stick. It would work randomly for less than a minute and then not more. As a result, the suction part didn’t really work well. When I went to their website, that was listed as a known and common issue, so I returned it. Guessing that’s why they discontinued this version.
1 reply from DysonProductExpert team - 8 months ago
Hi there Rachel, this is Tia from Dyson! We're very sorry to hear you say this and are always keen to help. We want you to love your Dyson machine from the first day and assure you our support team is always at the ready, should you need us. If you're ever in need of Dyson troubleshooting assistance, please don't hesitate to reach our support team at askdysonus@dyson.com. Thank you for choosing Dyson technology! Best wishes, Tia Dyson Customer Support
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Love It A lot

5 out of 5 stars
Koko13 - 8 months ago
originally posted on dyson.com
I really like the conveinence of my Dyson. It picks up well which I love. Though having it on high power you are lucky to get 20 minutes of run time. I don't like the feature of the way you empty the dirt. I see this feature easily breaking. Other than that I really like how it does such a great job in picking up the dirt.
Did you find this review helpful?

Battery died right after warranty was ip

1 out of 5 stars
Shela1987 - 8 months ago
originally posted on dyson.com
How convenient of the battery to die a few months after the two year warranty was up, these people know what they are doing. I thought these batteries were supposed to last 4-5 years, mine lasted 2.5 years and I don’t even use it heavily as our cleaners bring their own vacuum!
1 reply from Dyson Customer Support team - 8 months ago
Hi there, this is Kelly with Dyson. We're sorry to hear that you're having charging or run-time issues with your Dyson V8™ cord-free. The battery life your V8™ offers can vary, depending on how often the machine is used and charged, how well the machine is cleaned and maintained, and even how often the filter is washed. If you are still experiencing issues we'd like to walk you through the steps to troubleshoot this issue. Please contact our customer service team here for further assistance: https://www.dyson.com/support/contact-us, or email directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com for assistance. Best wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Support
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Worth it

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
JL - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
This vacuum is a game changer! So light and easy to use.
Did you find this review helpful?

Horrible

1 out of 5 stars
Kimberly1 - 9 months ago
originally posted on dyson.com
This vacuum is a waste of money. It constantly shuts off after vacuuming about 2 feet. Troubleshooting tells me there is a clog somewhere, it has done this ever since I purchased it. There is no clog. Now it won’t even vacuum my rugs. Very disappointed in the quality and would not recommend.
1 reply from Dyson Customer Support team - 9 months ago
Hi Kimberly, this is Kelly with Dyson. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're not having the full quality experience with your Dyson V8™ vacuum. If you are still experiencing issues we'd like to walk you through the steps to troubleshoot this issue. Please contact our customer service team here for further assistance: https://www.dyson.com/support/contact-us, or email directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com for assistance. Best wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Support
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Very happy

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Jeanz - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
Great Power. Love this vacuum!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Love this!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Smitht - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
Vacuum of my dreams! So easy to use and light
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Battery sucks

2 out of 5 stars
Rich M - 9 months ago
originally posted on dyson.com
Have had the machine for a year and a half and the battery will no longer hold a charge at all. Even new it barely lasted 10 minutes, but now its nothing more than a wall ornament. Always equated Dyson with quality, but I seem to have been mistaken.
1 reply from Dyson Customer Support team - 9 months ago
Hello Rich, this is Kelly with Dyson. We are sorry to hear about the charging issues you've been having with your Dyson V8™ vacuum. If you are still experiencing issues we'd like to walk you through the steps to troubleshoot this issue. Please contact our customer service team here for further assistance: https://www.dyson.com/support/contact-us, or email directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com for assistance. Best wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Support
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Vaccuming made messier and more time consuming

1 out of 5 stars
I miss my old vacuum - 9 months ago
originally posted on dyson.com
This thing clogs after cleaning a 6x8 carpet in a home with 1 small short-hair cat. The dust flies everywhere when I open the hatch and there is invariably dust stuck up around the top of the canister that I have to pull out by hand. Or I can release the whole canister, which is already dusty from opening the hatch. You can't just take off the canister, which would probably be less messy, you have to open the hatch at the bottom first which makes the handle and everything you touch dusty. Gross gross gross. The charge lasts for 2 rooms (13x15) max, but I have to stop multiple times to empty the nasty canister. I feel like I need a shower after I vacuum. The furniture attachment stopped working after a year, but we were able to take it apart, fiddle around and get it working again. There's no way to just turn the vacuum to on, you need to hold the button the whole time, which is a bit tiring. But mostly, I hate this vaccum because it's dirty, inconvenient and the suction isn't as good as my corded Kemore. Why or why did I give it away? It had such better suction, lasted indefinitely and wasn't dirty. It was just bigger, which since my apartment is small was unideal. But unideal is 1000x better than horrible. I loathe this vacuum. It makes me angry every time I use it.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

My second Dyson

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Roxc - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
Like the weight, the amount of suction and attachments
Did you find this review helpful?

Failed motorhead; poor customer follow up

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Kate - 10 months ago, Verified purchaser
Motörhead stopped working within 7 months of purchase. Contacted dyson for replacement and they’re out of stock, with no idea when I could get working replacement part. So I am left with no vacuum. Would not recommend.
1 reply from DysonProductExpert team - 10 months ago
Hi there Kate, this is Tia from Dyson! We're very sorry to hear you say this and are always keen to help. We want you to love your Dyson machine and assure you our support team is always at the ready, should you need us. We're eager to help with your Dyson part concerns, and invite you to reach our support team at askdysonus@dyson.com. Thank you for choosing Dyson technology! Best wishes, Tia Dyson Customer Support
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Game Changer

5 out of 5 stars
CL007 - 10 months ago
originally posted on dysoncanada.ca
Absolute game changer. So easy to use. LOVE this vacuum.
Did you find this review helpful?

Dont buy if you have an animal with hair!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Lezley - 10 months ago, Verified purchaser
This vacuum is complete garbage. You vacuum one strip of floor and the thing clogs and pulses…requiring you to open the bottom canister and manually push any dust bunnies or pet hair through. The thing is advertised for pets and labeled v8 ANIMAL not sure what kind Of animal because a few pets hairs clogs the thing! It also goes dead extremely fast. dyson used to have amazing customer service. Not anymore. I called to see what my options were since this vacuum is pretty much useless and they were extremely rude. I DO NOT recommend this vacuum!
1 reply from DysonProductExpert team - 10 months ago
Hello Lezley, this is Kelly with Dyson. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the V8 Animal cord-free. This machine features our mini motorized tool, which is the most effective tool to remove pet hair from furniture, upholstery, stairs, etc. This tool gives this model the "Animal" designation. If you frequently vacuum up pet hair, you will likely notice that more preventative maintenance is required, including bin emptying, hair removal from the floor tool, etc. If you are still experiencing issues we'd like to walk you through the steps to troubleshoot this issue. Please contact our customer service team here for further assistance: https://www.dyson.com/support/contact-us, or email directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com for assistance. Best wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Support
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great vacuum

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
DLE - 10 months ago, Verified purchaser
Great vacuum. I have a white Siberian Husky/Golden Retriever mix who sheds so much hair, I can knit a sweater with it! This vacuum sucks it all up. My only complaint is I have to vacuum daily but that is because of the dog, not because of the vacuum.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy Choices - CAInterest Based Ads