Loading, please wait...

Emmy in the Key of Code - by Aimee Lucido (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 416

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Computers & Digital Media

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Versify

Age Range: 9-12 Years

Author: Aimee Lucido

Language: English

Street Date: September 24, 2019
TCIN: 76567349
UPC: 9780358040828
Item Number (DPCI): 248-74-7205
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER.



Book Synopsis



In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of the Girls Who Code series and The Crossover.

In a new city, at a new school, twelve-year-old Emmy has never felt more out of tune. Things start to look up when she takes her first coding class, unexpectedly connecting with the material--and Abigail, a new friend--through a shared language: music. But when Emmy gets bad news about their computer teacher, and finds out Abigail isn't being entirely honest about their friendship, she feels like her new life is screeching to a halt. Despite these obstacles, Emmy is determined to prove one thing: that, for the first time ever, she isn't a wrong note, but a musician in the world's most beautiful symphony.



Review Quotes




★ "As Emmy learns Java, the language and structure of programming seep into her poems. Music and code interweave.... and readers will cheer to see them work collectively...to create something beautiful."--Kirkus, STARRED review

"Music, coding, strong female techie role models--this engaging first novel should attract a wide audience."--Booklist

"This timely debut...champions girls in STEM and delivers a positive message about being 'always exactly yourself'....Through the author's creative mesh of coding, music, poetry, and narrative, this story uniquely conveys the art and beauty that can be found in multiple disciplines.... relatable and relevant." --Publishers Weekly

"This unusual tale seamlessly weaves basic computer coding concepts into a compelling story about middle schoolers struggling to forge their own identities in spite of the expectations of their families and society."--School Library Journal



About the Author



Aimee Lucido is the author of EMMY IN THE KEY OF CODE, and the upcoming RECIPE FOR DISASTER (Versify, Spring 2021). She's a former software engineer, and she got her MFA in writing for children and young adults at Hamline University. She lives with her husband in San Francisco where she likes to bake, run marathons, and write crossword puzzles.
www.aimeelucido.com
Twitter: @AimeeLucidoInstagram: @AimeeLucido
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Tue, May 25 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.4 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.15 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), APO/FPO, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Northern Mariana Islands, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.