Loading, please wait...

product description page

Emperor of the Five Rivers : The Life of Ranjit Singh, First Maharaja of the Sikhs (Hardcover) (Mohamed

Emperor of the Five Rivers : The Life of Ranjit Singh, First Maharaja of the Sikhs (Hardcover) (Mohamed - image 1 of 1

About this item

In 1801, at the age of just 20 years old, Ranjit Singh became the first Maharaja of the Sikh Empire and subsequently emerged as one of the greatest figures in the history of the Punjab. Despite the difficult conditions he faced, including harsh terrain, a mixed ethnic population and surrounding aggressors (particularly the British in India), Ranjit Singh managed to unite the various Sikh factions and built a nation that neighbours soon learnt to treat with respect. Following his death in 1839, the empire fell into gradual decline and in 1845, just six years after Ranjit Singh's death, the Sikhs were defeated in battle by the British and fell under the influence of the East India Company. It was Ranjit Singh's leadership skills and personal characteristics which kept the Sikh empire strong and united in the face of adversity. Unusually for the time, the empire that Singh led was secular and he sought to promote inter-faith unity through policies of equality and non-discrimination. This new biography sheds new light on this important figure in Sikh history. Mohamed Sheikh's accessible account of Ranjit Singh's life illustrates the extraordinary leadership qualities, military prowess and political skills which ensured his success as a leader in challenging circumstances
Number of Pages: 288
Genre: History, Biography + Autobiography
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: I B Tauris & Co Ltd
Author: Mohamed Sheikh
Language: English
Street Date: February 18, 2017
TCIN: 51695224
UPC: 9781848857544
Item Number (DPCI): 248-28-7874
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.