Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Executioner's Daughter (Hardcover) (Jane Hardstaff)

Executioner's Daughter (Hardcover) (Jane Hardstaff) - image 1 of 1

About this item

A thrilling historical adventure (with Common Core connections) set in the underbelly of the Tower of London and on the Thames in Tudor times.Perfect for fans of Matthew J. Kirby's The Clockwork Three and F.E. Higgins'sThe Black Book of Secrets.Basket Girl,When you're deadWho will carryAll the heads?The crowds at the Tower of London love a good execution. As the basket girl, it's Moss's job to catch the heads that her father chops off. It's a life she longs to leave behind, but she, too, is a prisoner and there's no escaping the Tower walls.Or is there? A hidden tunnel takes her to the shores of the great River Thames, where she meets Salter, a river rat who teaches her how to survive with her wits, and the occasional theft.But there's a reason Moss's father insisted she never go near the river--a deal struck long ago--and now payment is due. . . .Jane Hardstaff's The Executioner's Daughter is a thrilling historical adventure with a hint of a ghost story set amid the glamour and grime of Tudor London during the reign of Henry VIII.Praise for The Executioner's Daughter:Longlisted for the 2015 Oxfordshire Book Award"Hardstaff has a real talent for creating a sense of place and drama . . . and her descriptions of the wretchedness of life on the river and a child's lowly lot are worth locking yourself up for an afternoon's reading pleasure." --The Times (London)"This notable debut mixes vivid history with supernatural adventure, and from its dark depths friendship, forgiveness, and parental love rise to the surface." --The Sunday Times
A thrilling historical adventure (with Common Core connections) set in the underbelly of the Tower of London and on the Thames in Tudor times.Perfect for fans of Matthew J. Kirby's The Clockwork Three and F.E. Higgins'sThe Black Book of Secrets.

Basket Girl,
When you're dead
Who will carry
All the heads?

The crowds at the Tower of London love a good execution. As the basket girl, it's Moss's job to catch the heads that her father chops off. It's a life she longs to leave behind, but she, too, is a prisoner and there's no escaping the Tower walls.

Or is there? A hidden tunnel takes her to the shores of the great River Thames, where she meets Salter, a river rat who teaches her how to survive with her wits, and the occasional theft.

But there's a reason Moss's father insisted she never go near the river--a deal struck long ago--and now payment is due. . . .

Jane Hardstaff's The Executioner's Daughter is a thrilling historical adventure with a hint of a ghost story set amid the glamour and grime of Tudor London during the reign of Henry VIII.

Praise for The Executioner's Daughter:
Longlisted for the 2015 Oxfordshire Book Award

"Hardstaff has a real talent for creating a sense of place and drama . . . and her descriptions of the wretchedness of life on the river and a child's lowly lot are worth locking yourself up for an afternoon's reading pleasure." --The Times (London)

"This notable debut mixes vivid history with supernatural adventure, and from its dark depths friendship, forgiveness, and parental love rise to the surface." --The Sunday Times
Number of Pages: 255
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Supernatural, History
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Lerner Pub Group
Age Range: 4-8 years
Author: Jane Hardstaff
Language: English
Street Date: April 30, 2016
TCIN: 17469352
UPC: 9781606845622
Item Number (DPCI): 247-47-1447
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$11.89
MSRPReg: $16.99 Save $5.10 (30% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.