product description page

Falling Kingdoms (Hardcover) (Morgan Rhodes)

Falling Kingdoms (Hardcover) (Morgan Rhodes) - image 1 of 1

about this item

War brought them together. Love will tear them apart.Princess Cleo of Mytica confronts violence for the first time in her life when a shocking murder sets her kingdom on a path to collapse. Once a privileged royal, Cleo must now summon the strength to survive in this new world and fight for her rightful place as Queen.The King of Limeros’s son, Magnus, must plan each footstep with shrewd, sharp guile if he is to earn his powerful father’s trust, while his sister, Lucia, discovers a terrifying secret about her heritage that will change everything.Rebellious Jonas lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverishedand finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.Witches, if found, are put to death, and Watchers, immortal beings who take the shape of hawks to visit the human world, have been almost entirely forgotten. A vicious power struggle quickly escalates to war, and these four young people collide against each other and the rise of elementia, the magic that can topple kingdoms and crown a ruler in the same day.

A deeply dramatic fantasy series that's Game of Thrones for teens

Sixteen-year-old Cleo has grown up in luxury, the royal heiress to a prosperous kingdom. But beneath her nation's seemingly peaceful surface lies dangerous unrest. Whispers of war are growing ever louder--intensified by a murderous incident for which Cleo's betrothed, Aron, is accused.

Amidst the ongoing intrigue, Cleo has a more desperate mission. She defies her father's orders and sets off on a secret and perilous journey into a neighboring country, seeking a magic long thought to be mythical. If it's real, it could be the cure that heals her ailing sister. If it's only legend, Cleo will be stranded in a kingdom that has just declared war on her own.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with unforgettable characters and vibrantly imagined magic. Falling Kingdoms is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Cinda Williams Chima, and George R.R. Martin.
Number of Pages: 412
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Science Fiction + Fantasy + Magic, General, Legends + Myths + Fables / General
Series Title: Falling Kingdoms
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Age Range: Teen
Author: Morgan Rhodes
Language: English
Street Date: December 11, 2012
TCIN: 15980130
UPC: 9781595145840
Item Number (DPCI): 247-09-6921
$13.29
MSRPReg: $18.99 Save $5.70 (30% off)

guest reviews

1
overall: 5 out of 5 stars, see all reviews

most recent reviews

Lovely

(would recommend)
5 out of 5 stars
L 2 years ago
Basically a YA Game of Thrones. Um.. yes!see moreof the reviewer's review
Do you find this helpful?
yes (0)no (0)report

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.