Femlandia - by Christina Dalcher (Hardcover)

Femlandia - by  Christina Dalcher (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Femlandia - by  Christina Dalcher (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$16.69When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up

Number of Pages: 336

Format: Hardcover

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Dystopian

Publisher: Berkley Books

Author: Christina Dalcher

Language: English

Street Date: October 19, 2021
TCIN: 82289270
UPC: 9780593201107
Item Number (DPCI): 247-09-9037
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"A chilling look into an alternate near future where a woman and her daughter seek refuge in a women-only colony, only to find that the safe haven they were hoping for is the most dangerous place they could be."--Publisher's description.



Book Synopsis



One of PureWow's 9 Books We Can't Wait to Read in October!

A chilling look into an alternate near future where a woman and her daughter seek refuge in a women-only colony, only to find that the safe haven they were hoping for is the most dangerous place they could be.

Miranda Reynolds always thought she would rather die than live in Femlandia. But that was before the country sank into total economic collapse and her husband walked out in the harshest, most permanent way, leaving her and her sixteen-year-old daughter with nothing. The streets are full of looting, robbing, and killing, and Miranda and Emma no longer have much choice--either starve and risk getting murdered, or find safety. And so they set off to Femlandia, the women-only colony Miranda's mother, Win Somers, established decades ago.

Although Win is no longer in the spotlight, her protégé Jen Jones has taken Femlandia to new heights: The off-grid colonies are secluded, self-sufficient, and thriving--and Emma is instantly enchanted by this idea of a safe haven. But something is not right. There are no men allowed in the colony, but babies are being born--and they're all girls. Miranda discovers just how the all-women community is capable of enduring, and it leads her to question how far her mother went to create this perfect, thriving, horrifying society.



Review Quotes




Dalcher (Vox) puts a delightfully dark dystopian twist on Herland...this wildly provocative glimpse into the future is sure to spark lively discussions about humankind's past, present, and future...Dalcher remains a writer to watch.--Publishers Weekly

"A master of the feminist dystopian novel...A no-holds-barred thriller and thought-provoking read for fans of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Naomi Alderman's The Power, and Kim Liggett's The Grace Year."--Library Journal

"Dalcher's latest is a cogent and timely exploration of the dangers of misandry and groupthink."--Booklist

The queen of dystopia.--Nina Pottell, Prima

"Christina Dalcher's latest dystopian feminist novel centers a popular locus of cultural and historical fascination: the women's commune...Dalcher interweaves Miranda's bitter, sharp storytelling with glimpses of Win's life that trace a radical evolution to founding Femlandia."--Bitch Media

Provocative, sinister, and fascinating, FEMLANDIA is full of complicated characters, with a gripping plot to boot. I read it with my breath held, unable to stop until I'd reached the explosive ending. You will definitely want to discuss this one with your book club.--Stephanie Wrobel, USA Today bestselling author of Darling Rose Gold

"Engrossing. Dalcher's novel is imaginative, urgent, and compulsively readable, not mention incredibly cool." -- Amanda Montell, author of Cultish



About the Author



Christina Dalcher earned her doctorate in theoretical linguistics from Georgetown University. She specializes in the phonetics of sound change in Italian and British dialects and has taught at several universities.

Her short stories and flash fiction appear in more than one hundred journals worldwide. Recognition includes the Bath Flash Fiction Award short list, nominations for the Pushcart Prize, and multiple other awards. She lives in Norfolk, Virginia, with her husband.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.26 inches length x 6.22 inches width x 8.9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.15 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. If purchased online with SNAP EBT, this item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. This 90-day return window is required by SNAP.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads