Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Field Guide to the North American Teenager - by Ben Philippe (Hardcover)

Field Guide to the North American Teenager -  by Ben Philippe (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1

About this item

A hilarious contemporary realistic YA debut novel about a rather cynical Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the clichés and joys of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and When Dimple Met Rishi.

Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don’t bode well when you are moving to Austin, Texas.

Plunked into a new high school and sweating a ridiculous amount from the oppressive Texas heat, Norris finds himself cataloging everyone he meets: the Cheerleaders, the Jocks, the Loners, and even the Manic Pixie Dream Girl. Making a ton of friends has never been a priority for him, and this way he can at least amuse himself until it’s time to go back to Canada, where he belongs.

Yet against all odds, those labels soon become actual people to Norris…like loner Liam, who makes it his mission to befriend Norris, or Madison the beta cheerleader, who is so nice that it has to be a trap. Not to mention Aarti the Manic Pixie Dream Girl, who might, in fact, be a real love interest in the making.

But the night of the prom, Norris screws everything up royally. As he tries to pick up the pieces, he realizes it might be time to stop hiding behind his snarky opinions and start living his life—along with the people who have found their way into his heart.

Number of Pages: 372
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Humorous, Social Themes
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books
Age Range: Teen
Book theme: General, Friendship, Emigration & Immigration
Author: Ben Philippe
Language: English
Street Date: January 8, 2019
TCIN: 54211950
UPC: 9780062824110
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-1646
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$12.91
MSRPReg: $18.99 Save $6.08 (32% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Loading, please wait...

Ratings & reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.