Loading, please wait...

product description page

Fields Medallists' Lectures (Paperback)

Fields Medallists' Lectures (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
not available
Not in stores

About this item

Although the Fields Medal does not have the same public recognition as the Nobel Prizes, they share a similar intellectual standing. It is restricted to one field — that of mathematics. The medal is awarded to the best mathematicians who are 40 or younger, every four years.A list of Fields Medallists and their contributions provides a bird's-eye view of the major developments in mathematics over the past 80 years. It highlights the areas in which, at various times, the greatest progress has been made.The third edition of Fields Medallists' Lectures features additional contributions from: John W Milnor (1962), Enrico Bombieri (1974), Gerd Faltings (1986), Andrei Okounkov (2006), Terence Tao (2006), Cédric Villani (2010), Elon Lindenstrauss (2010), Ngô Bao Châu (2010), Stanislav Smirnov (2010).
Number of Pages: 1095
Genre: Mathematics
Sub-Genre: Research, History + Philosophy
Series Title: World Scientific Series in 21th Century Mathematics
Format: Paperback
Publisher: World Scientific Pub Co Inc
Language: English
Street Date: October 26, 2015
TCIN: 50573312
UPC: 9789814696180
Item Number (DPCI): 248-08-5213
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.

*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.