Loading, please wait...

First Cut - (Dr. Jessie Teska Mystery) by Judy Melinek & T J Mitchell

First Cut - (Dr. Jessie Teska Mystery) by Judy Melinek & T J Mitchell - image 1 of 1
First Cut - (Dr. Jessie Teska Mystery) by Judy Melinek & T J Mitchell - image 1 of 1
Format Hardcover

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up

Number of Pages: 368

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Mystery & Detective

Series Title: Dr. Jessie Teska Mystery

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Hanover Square Press

Book theme: Women Sleuths

Author: Judy Melinek & T J Mitchell

Language: English

Street Date: January 7, 2020
TCIN: 76943930
UPC: 9781335008305
Item Number (DPCI): 247-03-0923
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



For San Francisco's newest medical examiner, Dr. Jessie Teska, it was supposed to be a fresh start. A new job in a new city. A way to escape her own dark past. Instead she faces a chilling discovery when an opioid-overdose case contains hints of something more sinister. Jessie's superiors urge her to close the case, but as more bodies land on her autopsy table, she uncovers a constellation of deaths that point to an elaborate plot involving drug dealers and Bitcoin brokers. Drawing on her real-life experiences as a forensics expert, Judy Melinek teams up with husband T.J. Mitchell to deliver the most exhilarating mystery of the year. Autopsy means "see for yourself," and Jessie Teska won't stop until she has seen it all--even if it means that the next corpse on the table could be her own.



Book Synopsis



A Bustle Most Anticipated Book of January 2020

"Scalpel sharp."--Kathy Reichs

A young rookie medical examiner. A suspicious case. An underworld plot only she saw coming.

From the New York Times bestselling authors of Working Stiff

For San Francisco's newest medical examiner, Dr. Jessie Teska, it was supposed to be a fresh start. A new job in a new city. A way to escape her own dark past.

Instead she faces a chilling discovery when an opioid-overdose case contains hints of something more sinister. Jessie's superiors urge her to close the case, but as more bodies land on her autopsy table, she uncovers a constellation of deaths that point to an elaborate plot involving drug dealers and Bitcoin brokers.

Drawing on her real-life experiences as a forensics expert, Judy Melinek teams up with husband T.J. Mitchell to deliver the most exhilarating mystery of the year. Autopsy means "see for yourself," and Jessie Teska won't stop until she has seen it all--even if it means that the next corpse on the table could be her own.



Review Quotes




"Scalpel sharp. First Cut allows a peek into the autopsy room through the eyes of a pro."--Kathy Reichs

"Who better to deliver a genuinely compelling mystery than real-life medical examiners? Fans of CSI and Forensic Files will devour this well plotted story."--Karin Slaughter

"All the charm, gruesome detail and surprising empathy that made Working Stiff such a delight brought back in a novel. An impressive opener to a series that deserves to run and run."--Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls and The Killer Next Door

"A strong series launch...While Jessie's gutsy personality will endear her to readers, it's the meticulous detail that distinguishes this novel...Fans of Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta will be pleased."--Publishers Weekly

"The married authors...expertly employ their know-how, maintaining blood-and-guts vérité while empathetically exploring what it's like to do a job with actual life-and-death stakes. First Cut is a fascinating, entertaining series kickoff, with a particularly kickass heroine."--BookPage

"If you love a fast-paced story with a true crime feel to it, waste no time hunting down the debut novel First Cut....The husband and wife writing team merges the insider expertise of a career medical examiner who has dealt with every detail of deaths from city morgues (Melinek) and a writer who understands how to work nuanced characters with distinctive personalities into a well-paced narrative with surprising twists and turns (Mitchell)."--Jersey's Best

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.1 inches length x 6.3 inches width x 9.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.02 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.