product description page

Forsyte Saga (Combined) (Paperback) (John Galsworthy)

Forsyte Saga (Combined) (Paperback) (John Galsworthy) - image 1 of 1

about this item

The Forsyte Saga, is a series of three novels and two interludes published between 1906 and 1921 by Nobel Prize-winning John Galsworthy. Chronicles the lives of three generations of the Forsyte family. Vicissitudes of leading members of upper class British family. Only a few generations removed from their farmer ancestors, the family members are keenly aware of their status as "new money". The main character, Soames Forsyte, sees himself as a "man of property" by virtue of his ability to accumulate material possessions—but this does not succeed in bringing him pleasure. Adapted by Hollywood as That Forsyte Woman, starring Errol Flynn, Greer Garson, Walter Pidgeon and Robert Young. The BBC produced a popular 26-part serial in 1967, that also dramatised a subsequent trilogy concerning the Forsytes. Inspired Masterpiece Theatre tv program, and the two Granada series. In 2003, The Forsyte Saga was listed on the BBC's The Big Read poll of the UK's "best-loved novel".
Edition: Combined
Number of Pages: 553.0
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Createspace Independent Pub
Author: John Galsworthy
Language: English
Street Date: September 16, 2015
TCIN: 50553026
UPC: 9781517388744
Item Number (DPCI): 248-08-4356

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.