product description page

Gabriels : Election Year in the Life of One Family - by Richard Nelson (Paperback)

Gabriels : Election Year in the Life of One Family -  by Richard Nelson (Paperback) - image 1 of 1

about this item

In this acclaimed three-part play cycle, Richard Nelson—author of the much-lauded The Apple Family plays—deftly embeds the chaotic tension of the 2016 Presidential election into the hyperrealistic family gathering in the home of the Gabriels in Rhinebeck, New York. Each play is set over the course of one evening in the house the family grew up in. History (both theirs and our country’s), money, politics, family and culture are mixed together as a meal is being made—all combining to make theatre that is as immediate as it is riveting in its humanity. The trilogy includes Hungry, What Did You Expect?, and Women of a Certain Age.

Richard Nelson’s many plays include The Apple Family plays, Rodney’s Wife, Goodnight Children Everywhere, Drama Desk-nominated Franny’s Way, and Some Americans Abroad, Tony Award-nominated Two Shakespearean Actors, and the James Joyce’s The Dead (with Shaun Davey), for which he won a Tony Award for Best Book of a Musical. Over the next ten years, Nelson will be collaborating with preeminent translators Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky on a major translation series of classic Russian plays.

From the author of The Apple Family plays, this illuminating trilogy reflects on American life during the 2016 national election

Number of Pages: 320
Genre: Drama, Family + Relationships
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Consortium Book Sales & Dist
Author: Richard Nelson
Language: English
Street Date: June 5, 2018
TCIN: 51773495
UPC: 9781559365482
Item Number (DPCI): 248-34-1690

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.