Gearbreakers - by Zoe Hana Mikuta

Gearbreakers - by Zoe Hana Mikuta - image 1 of 1
Gearbreakers - by Zoe Hana Mikuta - image 1 of 1
$13.89When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 13-17 Years
Number of Pages: 416
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Dystopian
Series Title: Gearbreakers
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Author: Zoe Hana Mikuta
Language: English
Street Date: June 29, 2021
TCIN: 82681184
UPC: 9781250269508
Item Number (DPCI): 247-22-8334
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



An electric YA debut novel about colossal mechas, a tyrannical regime, and two girls on opposite sides of a war who discover they're fighting for a common purpose--and falling for each other.



Book Synopsis



Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they're fighting for a common purpose--and falling for each other--in Zoe Hana Mikuta's high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown's Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu's Legend series.

We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead...

The shadow of Godolia's tyrannical rule is spreading, aided by their giant mechanized weapons known as Windups. War and oppression are everyday constants for the people of the Badlands, who live under the thumb of their cruel Godolia overlords.

Eris Shindanai is a Gearbreaker, a brash young rebel who specializes in taking down Windups from the inside. When one of her missions goes awry and she finds herself in a Godolia prison, Eris meets Sona Steelcrest, a cybernetically enhanced Windup pilot. At first Eris sees Sona as her mortal enemy, but Sona has a secret: She has intentionally infiltrated the Windup program to destroy Godolia from within.

As the clock ticks down to their deadliest mission yet, a direct attack to end Godolia's reign once and for all, Eris and Sona grow closer--as comrades, friends, and perhaps something more...

Praise for Gearbreakers:

An absolute joyride ... Zoe Hana Mikuta is a talent to be in awe of. --Chloe Gong, New York Times-bestselling author of These Violent Delights

Dark, fierce, thrilling, and tender, Gearbreakers will make your blood sing. --Nina Varela, author of Crier's War



Review Quotes




Praise for Gearbreakers:

An absolute joyride of a story set in a vivid, arresting world. Gearbreakers is sci-fi at its very finest, combining the grandeur of mecha fighting machines with the intimacy of (splendidly feral) found family. Zoe Hana Mikuta is a talent to be in awe of. --Chloe Gong, New York Times-bestselling author of These Violent Delights

Dark, fierce, thrilling, and tender, Gearbreakers will make your blood sing. Set in a ruthless, vividly imagined world against the scope of gods and sword-fighting mechas and a crushing war, Zoe Hana Mikuta deftly balances the brutal with the hopeful. An electric heart beats on every page of this breathlessly paced cyberpunk adventure. --Nina Varela, author of Crier's War

An intense sci-fi adventure with heart, hard choices, and found family ... Delivered through propulsive prose and immersive worldbuilding, Gearbreakers is twisty, ominous, and high-octane. ... Glitteringly cinematic. --Tor.com

Even more entertaining than a big summer blockbuster. --PopSugar

A brutal and commanding debut ... Mikuta has delivered an extraordinary novel that perfectly balances high-octane action with intimate character development and tender hope. --Vulture

Zoe Hana Mikuta's Gearbreakers will ruin your life and I mean that in the best way possible. ... Will blow your mind. --Culturess

Like Pacific Rim, Gearbreakers brings a sense of the poetic to the action-driven proceedings. In the case of Pacific Rim, the poetry was in the visuals, while in Gearbreakers, it manifests in the musicality of the language. Debut author Zoe Hana Mikuta has a way with words, and it will be exciting to see how her voice develops over time. --NPR

Frantic, bordering on chaotic, fight scenes deftly convey the world's reality, wherein second-guessing guarantees death. ... Quippy exchanges among the inclusive cast bring a levity that balances their grim realities, and the cliffhanger ending of this action-packed series starter suggests that a deeper political conspiracy will unfold in the sequel. --Publishers Weekly




About the Author



Zoe Hana Mikuta currently attends the University of Washington in Seattle, studying English with a creative writing focus. She grew up in Boulder, Colorado, where she developed a deep love of Muay Thai kickboxing and nurtured a slow and steady infatuation for fictional worlds. When she is not writing, Zoe can be found embroidering runes onto her jean pockets, studying tarot or herbology, or curled up with a cup of caramel coffee and a good, bloody but heartwarming book. Gearbreakers is her debut novel.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.5 inches length x 5.7 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.05 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy Choices - CAInterest Based Ads