Loading, please wait...

Glimmer as You Can - by Danielle Martin (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 304

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Friendship

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Alcove Press

Age Range: Adult

Author: Danielle Martin

Language: English

Street Date: November 10, 2020
TCIN: 79691258
UPC: 9781643855233
Item Number (DPCI): 247-41-4445
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"Welcome to the Starlite. Let your true self shine. 1962. In the middle of Brooklyn Heights sits the Starlite: boutique dress shop by day, underground women's club by night. Started by the shop's proprietor after her marriage crumbled, Madeline's social club soon becomes a safe haven for women from all walks of life looking for a respite from their troubled relationships and professional frustrations. These after-hour soiéres soon bring two very different women into Madeline's life--Elaine, a British ex-pat struggling to save her relationship, and Lisa, a young stewardess whose plans for the future are suddenly upended--irrevocably changing all three women's lives in ways no one could have predicted. But when Madeline's ne'er-do-well ex-husband shows up again, the luster of Starlite quickly dampens. As the sisterhood rallies around Madeline, tension begins to eat at the club. When an unspeakable tragedy befalls their sorority, one woman must decide whether to hide the truth from the group or jeopardize her own hopes and dreams. Sure to appeal to readers of Kathleen Tessaro and Suzanne Rindell, Glimmer As You Can captures the heartbeat of an era and the ambitions of a generation of women living in a man's world--a world threatened by a wave of change."--Provided by publisher.



Book Synopsis



A timely and beautiful story of female friendship and strength. --Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author of The Queen's Fortune

Martin deftly and exquisitely captures this historical moment. --Jillian Cantor, USA Today bestselling author of In Another Time

In the glitz and glamor tradition of Beatriz Williams's Tiny Little Thing and Fiona Davis's The Chelsea Girls, Danielle Martin's debut is a love letter to...women (Greer Macallister, The Magician's Lie) that illustrates the courage of women and the strength of sisterhood.

Welcome to the Starlite. Let your true self shine.

1962. In the middle of Brooklyn Heights sits the Starlite: boutique dress shop by day, underground women's club by night. Started by the shop's proprietor after her marriage crumbled, Madeline's social club soon becomes a safe haven for women from all walks of life looking for a respite from their troubled relationships and professional frustrations. These after-hour soirées soon bring two very different women into Madeline's life--Elaine, a British ex-pat struggling to save her relationship, and Lisa, a young stewardess whose plans for the future are suddenly upended--irrevocably changing all three women's lives in ways no one could have predicted.

But when Madeline's ne'er-do-well ex-husband shows up again, the luster of Starlite quickly dampens. As the sisterhood rallies around Madeline, tension begins to eat at the club. When an unspeakable tragedy befalls their sorority, one woman must decide whether to hide the truth from the group or jeopardize her own hopes and dreams. Sure to appeal to readers of Kathleen Tessaro and Suzanne Rindell, Glimmer As You Can captures the heartbeat of an era and the ambitions of a generation of women living in a man's world--a world threatened by a wave of change.



Review Quotes




Praise for Glimmer As You Can
"Martin crafts a charming anthem to female solidarity."
--Booklist

"Impressively original, fully reader engaging, and deftly scripted."
--Midwest Book Review

"Beautifully written."
--Seattle Book Review

"Told against the historic backdrop of a time of great social change, and with colorful language and details, this is a timely and beautiful story of female friendship and strength, of the secrets we all carry behind our smiles, and the power to be found in a sisterhood of supportive women."
--Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author of The Queen's Fortune

"Beautifully written...Danielle Martin deftly and exquisitely captures this historical moment and the lives, hopes, and struggles of three women trapped in their circumstances...An enduring story of the power of female friendship."
--Jillian Cantor, USA Today bestselling author of In Another Time and Half Life

"Martin's Brooklyn-set debut is a love letter to the women of the past whose struggles and successes still feel familiar today. The novel's mix of hope and fear, empowerment and disappointment, entanglement and freedom will break, then mend, your heart."
--Greer Macallister, USA Today bestselling author of The Magician's Lie and The Arctic Fury



About the Author



Danielle Martin started her professional career as an assistant with the William Morris agency before pursuing a degree in teaching. She previously worked as a special education teacher in New York, Pennsylvania, and Louisiana. Currently she works as a freelance writer near New Orleans. Born in Putnam County, NY and raised by two generations of native Brooklynites, her depictions of the boroughs of New York were informed by her childhood experiences, family accounts, and a love of city history.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.2 inches length x 6.2 inches width x 9.8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.05 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Guam (see also separate entry under GU), United States Minor Outlying Islands, APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.