product description page

Golden Delicious (Paperback) (Christopher Boucher)

Golden Delicious (Paperback) (Christopher Boucher) - image 1 of 1
$11.52
MSRPReg: $16.95 Save $5.43 (32% off)

about this item

An adventurous literary ride that takes you to the heart of family, love, and memoryWelcome to Appleseed, Massachusetts, where stories grow in soil, sentences are kept as pets, and pianos change your point of view.Golden Delicious chronicles one family's arrival in the small town and the narrator's rich, vivid childhood—driving to the local flea market with his father and sister, causing trouble at school, pedaling through the neighborhood on his Bicycle Built for Two. When a curious infestation causes a blight in the soil, though, the local economy sours and the narrator's family is torn apart. His mother joins a flying militia known as The Mothers; his father takes an all-consuming job; his sister runs away for a better life elsewhere. Who will save Appleseed? Will it be the Memory of Johnny Appleseed? The Mothers? The narrator himself?Heartbreaking, funny, and wildly-imaginative, Golden Delicious is a tour-de-force unlike anything you've ever read before. Fans of Karen Russell and Italo Calvino will love Christopher Boucher's new novel, a follow-up to his acclaimed 2011 debutHow to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive. You'll root for the narrator and his pet sentence, laugh at their absurd predicaments, and cheer for the family at the core of this drama that, despite every obstacle, fights to stay together.
Number of Pages: 323.0
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Literary
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Inc
Author: Christopher Boucher
Language: English
Street Date: April 26, 2016
TCIN: 50605907
UPC: 9781612195100
Item Number (DPCI): 248-08-7915

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.