Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Golden Son (Hardcover) (Pierce Brown)

Golden Son (Hardcover) (Pierce Brown) - image 1 of 1

About this item

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWith shades of The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game, and Game of Thrones, debut author Pierce Brown’s genre-defying epic Red Rising hit the ground running and wasted no time becoming a sensation.Golden Son continues the stunning saga of Darrow, a rebel forged by tragedy, battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom.As a Red, Darrow grew up working the mines deep beneath the surface of Mars, enduring backbreaking labor while dreaming of the better future he was building for his descendants. But the Society he faithfully served was built on lies. Darrow’s kind have been betrayed and denied by their elitist masters, the Golds—and their only path to liberation is revolution. And so Darrow sacrifices himself in the name of the greater good for which Eo, his true love and inspiration, laid down her own life. He becomes a Gold, infiltrating their privileged realm so that he can destroy it from within.A lamb among wolves in a cruel world, Darrow finds friendship, respect, and even love—but also the wrath of powerful rivals. To wage and win the war that will change humankind’s destiny, Darrow must confront the treachery arrayed against him, overcome his all-too-human desire for retribution—and strive not for violent revolt but a hopeful rebirth. Though the road ahead is fraught with danger and deceit, Darrow must choose to follow Eo’s principles of love and justice to free his people.He must live for more.Praise for Golden Son“Gripping . . . Both author and lead character have cranked up the emotional stakes. . . . WithGolden Son, Brown avoids the sophomore slump, charging the novel with the kind of dystopia-toppling action you’d expect in a trilogy ender, not a middle volume. On virtually every level, this is a sequel that hates sequels—a perfect fit for a hero who already defies the tropes. [Grade:] A”Entertainment Weekly“Stirring . . . Comparisons to The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones series are inevitable, for this tale has elements of both.”—Kirkus Reviews“Brown writes layered, flawed characters . . . but plot is his most breathtaking strength. . . . Every action seems to flow into the next.”—NPR“It’s a far superior sequel, in fact: one of the rare breed of reads that improves upon its predecessor in every conceivable category. . . . In a word,Golden Son is stunning. Never mind how little we’ve seen of 2015: Among science fiction fans, it should be a shoo-in for book of the year.”Tor.com“Pierce Brown is a prodigy. As great as the first book of the Red Rising Trilogy is,Golden Son is even better. A wild ride full of suspense, intrigue, and serious
With shades of The Hunger Games, Ender?s Game, and Game of Thrones, debut author Pierce Brown?s genre-defying epic Red Rising hit the ground running and wasted no time becoming a sensation. Golden Son continues the stunning saga of Darrow, a rebel forged by tragedy, battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom from the overlords of a brutal elitist future built on lies. Now fully embedded among the Gold ruling class, Darrow continues his work to bring down Society from within. A life-or-death tale of vengeance with an unforgettable hero at its heart, Golden Son guarantees Pierce Brown?s continuing status as one of fiction?s most exciting new voices.

Praise for Red Rising

?[A] spectacular adventure . . . one heart-pounding ride . . . Pierce Brown?s dizzyingly good debut novel evokes The Hunger Games, Lord of the Flies, and Ender?s Game. . . . [Red Rising] has everything it needs to become meteoric.??Entertainment Weekly

?I don?t know what Pierce Brown did before he started writing books, but whatever it was, he was wasting his time. Fast-paced, gripping, well-written?the sort of book you cannot put down. I am already on the lookout for the next one.??Terry Brooks, New York Times bestselling author of The Sword of Shannara

?Pierce Brown has done an astounding job at delivering a powerful piece of literature that will definitely make a mark in the minds of readers.??The Huffington Post

?Ender, Katniss, and now Darrow: Pierce Brown?s empire-crushing debut is a sprawling vision of humanity?s diaspora to the stars.??Scott Sigler, New York Times bestselling author of Nocturnal

?[A] great debut . . . The author gathers a spread of elements toge
Number of Pages: 446
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Science Fiction + Fantasy
Series Title: Red Rising Trilogy
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Random House Inc
Author: Pierce Brown
Language: English
Street Date: January 6, 2015
TCIN: 16686109
UPC: 9780345539816
Item Number (DPCI): 247-38-8860
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$13.99
MSRPwas $25.00
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

1
overall: 5 out of 5 stars, see all reviews

Most recent reviews

Great book and great series!

(would recommend)
5 out of 5 stars
Living in PA 2 years ago
I absolutely love this book and this series. This series is perfect for fans of Hunger Games, Enders Game, Maze Runner and Game Of Thrones. I actually like this series better than all of them!see moreof the reviewer's review
Do you find this helpful?
yes (0)no (0)report

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.