Loading, please wait...

Grave Expectations - (Dickens of a Crime) by Heather Redmond (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 320

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Mystery & Detective

Series Title: Dickens of a Crime

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corporation

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: Historical

Author: Heather Redmond

Language: English

Street Date: July 30, 2019
TCIN: 76394089
UPC: 9781496717160
Item Number (DPCI): 248-64-5791
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description

"Grave Expectations is as easy to read as one of Mr. Dickens' actual novels and as entertaining. As the subtitle reveals, it's a Dickens of a tale, and readers should be coming back for more."
--The New York Journal of Books on Grave Expectations

"The life of a promising journalist in 19th-century London is complicated, but Redmond's hero is more than up to the challenge in this topsy-turvy take on a British literary classic. Once again, Redmond mixes history, mystery, and a little bit of whimsy."
--Kirkus Reviews
on Grave Expectations

"One of the most satisfying mysteries you will read this year."

--Suspense Magazine
on Grave Expectations

"Redmond's appealing sequel...effectively captures the young Charles's ebullient energy, the warmth of his circle, and the color of a fast-changing era. Readers will look forward to Charles's further adventures."
--Publishers Weekly on Grave Expectations

"Atmospheric, absorbing...a worthy read that provides some armchair time travel and is great for fans of Christopher Fowler's Bryant & May series."
--Booklist
on Grave Expectations

Praise for A Dickens of Crime Mystery series

"A complex and highly satisfying mystery. Redmond weaves Dickensian themes--wealth and poverty, love and rejection--seamlessly throughout the story while evoking a Victorian era that feels immediate and alive. Fans of Anne Perry will love this one."
--Dianne Freeman, author of the Countess of Harleigh Mysteries

Mystery fans and history buffs alike should cheer.
--Kirkus STARRED Review

"One suspects that Mr. Dickens himself would thoroughly enjoy this literary play on his early life and sleuthing abilities. Great fun to read!"
--Catherine Lloyd, author of the Kurland St. Mary Mysteries

"Meticulous attention to historical details and the known elements of Dickens's life . . . a complex mystery that cunningly explores how Dickens might have been inspired to write the plot of his most well-known book . . . Sharp, incisive, and delightfully twisty. I'm sure I won't be the only reader exclaiming, 'What the Dickens?!'"
--Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries

"A Tale of Two Murders is an all-over twisty read and a Dickens of a good mystery!"
--Julie Mulhern, USA Today bestselling author of The Country Club Murders

"With the mystery-weaving skill of Anne Perry and the tone of Dickens, A Tale of Two Murders mixes raw suspense with flirtatious banter in a fast-paced historical mystery that keeps us guessing through a tour of 1830s London."
--Ransom Stephens, author of The Sensory Deception

"For Dickens fans, this charming little puzzler will prove a delight."
--Booklist

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.